Crispy Zucchini or Pumpkin Blossoms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I have been eating Pumpkins Blossoms since I was a kids some 40 years ago. I am not from Italy and have no idea where this originated. I use flour and cornmeal (2 to 1) and season it with garlic, red pepper, salt dip them in egg and mile first and fry them in Butter flavored crisco. i general pick blossoms every morning, rinse and store on a plate with a paper towel in layers in the frigerator for a few days till i get enough for a mess. Also, cook only half done and put them in the freezer, then in the winter you can put them in the oven till crisp and you can enjoy them all season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was absolutely delicious! Great simple flavor, a great starter. (I needed to adjust the recipe since I only had 8 blossoms and I found that I needed to add 2 teaspoons of water to the automatically converted amount to make the batter the right consistency.) This would be a good fritter dough if it's not blossom season. This is a great way to use up all the male blossoms on your zucchini plant. YUM! (Both female and male blossoms grow on a zucchini plant. The fruit grows from the female blossom and the male is fruitless, which makes it ideal for cooking with.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I'm also from an italian family and grew up with this great recipe. Also told not to use the males. They're the ones with the zucchini growing from them. The female flowers will only have a stem. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Ever cry when eating food? Yup! These are perfect for so many reasons!! My Nonna would send me into her garden looking for male flowers. She’d make these every summer on an old stove in the garage (I’ve never figured out why this was an ‘outdoor only’ type food, her version of a BBQ maybe?). When she passed – the recipe went with her. Seeing as I couldn’t recall what was involved in these ‘petigella’ (spelling?), I checked on allrecipes. Though it’s not exact, it brought back a flood of memories for me. Domenica, thank you for the memories! These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Excellent summer snack! My grandmother is originally from Benevento, Italy and has a similar recipe for these. She says only to use the female blossom, but I didn't ask why & I don't know how to tell the difference. Perfect with a bit of salt on them, some cheese and wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
very good - next time i'll use a LOT more spices, and maybe even stuff the leaves with a mushroom or cheese mix before breading them. This is a great start!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Such a great way to get more out of the garden. I used pumpkin and squash blossoms. Also, I subbed goat cheese for the parmesan, and added some chopped jalapeno to give it a little kick. Also, I dredged it in flour, raw egg and panko instead of the batter. They were crispy, gooey, spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unsightly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Love them. This was our first try with pumpkin blossoms. I used Asiago cheese as that's all I had. It was great!! I have made them several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
a great recipe... I've been using a variety of this for years. but use beer instead of water and add paprika to give it a little red tint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinky Monkey Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
These are so yummy!!! I had to add a little extra water as the batter seemed too thick. We dipped them in marinara sauce and my kids all LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States