Crispy Zucchini or Pumpkin Blossoms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is excellent! The only change I made was to add more cold water until the batter resembled pancake batter and I sprinkled some salt on them when I removed them from the pan. Awesome flavour - this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written. It was very thick! The flavor was too bland. Next time I may add more water & minced garlic, or a spice. My next door neighbors tried two. They said the same thing. I used male pumpkin flowers, took out the "male" part. I'm sure it can be quite good, but it just missed the mark for us. Perhaps I should do two flowers together & paint on the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kmandre
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I really loved this recipe! My husband couldn't say enough good things about them! I did have to add 7 tablespoons of beer instead of just 2 water---I did all beer instead of water and it was very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
the blossoms were quite delicious. i would give it a better rating but 2 tbs. was certainly not enough water, i put 4 tbs. and i know i should have put more water because i think they were alittle too bready. but, in fairness i picked the flowers, washed and dried them, then put a damp paper towel around them and put in fridge. i didn't get around to frying them for 3 days so they may have absorbed more batter because of it. but regardless i think they still would have needed twice as much water as the recipe calls for. i really did enjoy them and appreciate having the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These are delish! I have only used the zuchini flowers ...which are THE BEST! ..I stuff mine with Ricotta cheese BEFORE dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I used this recipe because I wasn't sure what to do with the pumpkin flowers in my yard. My family had never eaten pumpkin flowers before; the recipe was a huge hit!!! I did add about two tablespoons of breadcrumbs because I didn't have any basil. I also added some extra water to absorb the added breadcrumbs. Remember to remove the stwms and take the center bulb out of the inside of the flower. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These were simple quite tasty! A couple points: 1. I ran out of batter about 2/3's of the way through, but I was using quite big blossoms, so I just made a bit more! 2. I would rinse the blossoms well in advance of cooking as regardless of the fact that mine appeared dry, there was some dangerous oil spattering from residual water inside the blossoms. // // // I plan on trying this recipe with a little garlic in the batter and perhaps some cheese sprinkled on top. A dip (like bleu cheese dressing) might be a good option as well. Will keep you posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
If I could give this 10 stars I would. I made this last night for company as an appetizer, everyone went nuts over it!!! I did have to add just a little x-tra water to thin batter slightly. The only blossoms I had was from my yellow summer crook neck squash, so that's what I used. M'mmmmm Good! They fluffed up so beautiful as they fried, what a wonder site and taste!!!! My grandfather who was born in Northern Italy, I know he's looking down upon me now and is proud of his Bella Mia!! I can't wait to make it again and try some new ideas with stuffing them. I will be picking my blossoms again soon to try this. I can't wait so it'll probably be today! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Stock Briscoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Yummy! Just needed some salt. My family loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Such a great way to get more out of the garden. I used pumpkin and squash blossoms. Also, I subbed goat cheese for the parmesan, and added some chopped jalapeno to give it a little kick. Also, I dredged it in flour, raw egg and panko instead of the batter. They were crispy, gooey, spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unsightly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States