Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
mixed finely chopped broccoli and spinach and pepper with chick pea flour,cilantro and spices as listed above.batter was too thin,so added more besan and fried for about 4 to 5 minutes turning twice.batter holds.do add spices as vegetables are bland.to prevent gas,added both asoefetida and dried mango powder.turned out good on superbowl day.the game turned out one sided though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp of cumin, fenugreek, ginger and ajwain. Replaced garlic cloves with 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Used spinach, one small finely diced onion and two cooked potatoes, also finely diced, for vegetables. Crispy fried in peanut oil and utterly addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Photo by CEPUKAS
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Perfect I uses shredded carrots, zucchini, thinly sliced onion and sliced and chopped cauliflower. Over cooked looked is key! Such a good recipe! Served with a mint chutney and a tamarid one. Left overs are great for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Add a pinch of baking soda to the recipe and they will become extra light and crunchy. You can also make these with only potato slices dipped in the batter and then fried. You could also add whole cumin seeds for extra flavour. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious, I used a lot of broccoli, this is soooooo frikkin good. Next time I am going to halve the recipe, since it's only my son and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe a half-dozen times in different ways, and there doesn't seem to be a way to go wrong! My favorite combo is do do a mix of chopped spinach with finely diced potato, cauliflower and onion (thawed frozen veggies work just fine too). Add more chili powder or a bit of cayenne if you're in the mood for something spicier, but the base recipe itself is solid. The hardest part is probably waiting to make sure the pakoras stay in the pan long enough to get super crispy, because they're so good that no one wants to wait to eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Made this tonight as a last minute substitution for our monthly supper club. I followed the other users advice of doubling the spices (except for salt) and chopping the veg up small. I used cauliflower, zucchini, red bell pepper, carrots and onion. Fantastic, easy to cook and it got rave reviews. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RescueMom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Super easy to make and really delicious. I will double the spices next time as I like them with a little more kick. I used cauliflower, carrots, and onion, and mixed my chopped veggies into the batter, then dropped by the spoonful into the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a great batter recipe! I think next time I will dice the vegetables as others have suggested, but the flavor is awesome. I think I'll use more chili next time as well, but I will definitely be making this a lot. Even my daughter loved these and she's so picky. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made these last week with a Middle Eastern inspired dinner that I was making and they turned out great! I followed the recipe for the batter as written, however I used regular A/P flour as that's all that I had on hand. I also used garlic powder rather than fresh garlic, and after reading some reviews I added 1/2tsp of cumin to the batter as well. I ended up having to add about 1c of water to the batter, but I think that's probably because of the A/P flour. I had a bag of frozen mixed veggies that I needed to use up, so that's what I used rather than onions and cauliflower. I thawed the veggies in the micro and drained them, then added them directly to the batter and mixed it all together. I fried them in veg oil on the stove top in small batches. They held together really nicely and barely broke apart at all while they were cooking. I cooked them until they were a nice golden brown and they turned out wonderful! Very good flavor, chewy, crunchy, and a great addition to the other parts of the meal. I made a yogurt cilantro sauce for dipping which complimented these very nicely (4tbsp plain yogurt, 1tbsp sour cream, a few dashed of hot sauce, a few dashes of chili powder, 1tbsp dried cilantro, refrigerate for a few mins to let flavors meld). Great recipe and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States