Crispy Vegetable Pakoras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Hi, TY for thi recipe, I added about 1/2 Tsp more salt, coriander powder and Chillie powder, used dry powdered garlic, added 1/4 Tsp kalonji seeds and Anis seeds (Ajwain). One can add a tablsp of Rice Flour to give this dish more crisp. Any vegetable is good, I also slicend paneer , which turnend out great, my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
mixed finely chopped broccoli and spinach and pepper with chick pea flour,cilantro and spices as listed above.batter was too thin,so added more besan and fried for about 4 to 5 minutes turning twice.batter holds.do add spices as vegetables are bland.to prevent gas,added both asoefetida and dried mango powder.turned out good on superbowl day.the game turned out one sided though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp of cumin, fenugreek, ginger and ajwain. Replaced garlic cloves with 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Used spinach, one small finely diced onion and two cooked potatoes, also finely diced, for vegetables. Crispy fried in peanut oil and utterly addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CEPUKAS
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Perfect I uses shredded carrots, zucchini, thinly sliced onion and sliced and chopped cauliflower. Over cooked looked is key! Such a good recipe! Served with a mint chutney and a tamarid one. Left overs are great for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Add a pinch of baking soda to the recipe and they will become extra light and crunchy. You can also make these with only potato slices dipped in the batter and then fried. You could also add whole cumin seeds for extra flavour. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious, I used a lot of broccoli, this is soooooo frikkin good. Next time I am going to halve the recipe, since it's only my son and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe a half-dozen times in different ways, and there doesn't seem to be a way to go wrong! My favorite combo is do do a mix of chopped spinach with finely diced potato, cauliflower and onion (thawed frozen veggies work just fine too). Add more chili powder or a bit of cayenne if you're in the mood for something spicier, but the base recipe itself is solid. The hardest part is probably waiting to make sure the pakoras stay in the pan long enough to get super crispy, because they're so good that no one wants to wait to eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Made this tonight as a last minute substitution for our monthly supper club. I followed the other users advice of doubling the spices (except for salt) and chopping the veg up small. I used cauliflower, zucchini, red bell pepper, carrots and onion. Fantastic, easy to cook and it got rave reviews. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RescueMom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Super easy to make and really delicious. I will double the spices next time as I like them with a little more kick. I used cauliflower, carrots, and onion, and mixed my chopped veggies into the batter, then dropped by the spoonful into the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a great batter recipe! I think next time I will dice the vegetables as others have suggested, but the flavor is awesome. I think I'll use more chili next time as well, but I will definitely be making this a lot. Even my daughter loved these and she's so picky. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States