Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
maybe i missed something but I made these like shoestring size, looking at the #1 review for this recipe, kept everything the same and they still burned on the tips. Taste may have been better but I didn't use cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was my first try at making turnips, and we loved them! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good! I baked for 40 minutes, turning halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
they were super tasty- though i put WAY more parm cheese, and opted for garlic powder with sea salt. only problem is i was unable to get the turnips crunchy, and i cooked for about 35 minutes. still good, just were more like "the mushy fries" you have sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love these. I sub the vegetable oil for olive oil and just use sea salt to taste. Excellent!!! Just as good as potatoes fries...hubby agrees. I shouldn't have told the kids they were turnips, but my nine year old tried and didn't like.....next time I won't tell and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Our family really didn't care for these. They never did get crispy. And when they caramelized, they became a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I thought these were great. A few reviewers mentioned that the "fries" weren't crispy, so I added a shake or two of panko to the bag with the seasonings and cheese. I cut mine into steak fry shape, and they needed probably twice as long in the oven, but they came out with a nice crunch from the panko, and I enjoyed them very much. I will definitely make again using smoked paprika next time and perhaps a sharper cheese like romano or asiago. Thanks IM COOKIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I'd never had turnips before, but I wanted to try them so I made this recipe. I thought it tasted delicious! The flavor combination was great. These aren't potato fries, of course, and I found that I didn't actually like them with ketchup the way I eat regular or sweet potato fries...but they were great on their own and with the brown gravy I also happened to be serving with the meal. My only issue was that they were pretty mushy. I cut them thin, like shoestring fries, since I had read in other reviews that larger fries didn't crisp, but I still didn't have any luck. They baked into a mushy fry-shape (but they still tasted good!). I ended up leaving half the fries in the oven to keep them warm for my husband's late dinner, and actually they had firmed up a bit more by the time he got to them. Maybe I just need to try baking them for 30-40 minutes instead. Thanks for the recipe; I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Maybe I did something wrong, but these were nothing like fries. They were solid and almost juicy inside, and not crunchy outside. Almost roasted? I won't be repeating the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious while they are hot, but not so good when they cool off. I'd also suggest trying chili powder instead of the paprika. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States