Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I tired it as posted and LOVED them and make them regularly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
They are turnips. They were good though I did add red pepper flakes and a bit more parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
We really enjoyed this, I agree with turning them half way through and maybe cooking 5 min longer. They have a sweet flavor which is surprising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Not bad, just not anything particularly special. I also recommend turning the fries halfway through, but it`s unlikely you will get them really crispy - just as you wouldn`t with potato oven fries. Might make these again and add some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Turnips had a strong flavor. If they weren't so strong they would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
i had never tried trunips before, but these were actually good :-) But couldnt get them crispy, they were very soft, kind of reminded me more or onion rings versus french fries because of the onion powder. But I'm glad I can add another veggie in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
These were amazing! No, they aren't crispy like fries but they are a great alternative if you are looking for low carb or for adding more or different veggies into you meal rotation. I pretty much made exactly using my own purchases spice mix called Nick's Mix which is similar to Lawry's but spicier. I didn't wait for the oven to pre-heat, just put it all in and set the timer for 30 minutes. I took one out and tested it and it was super yummy. I let the rest sit for another 5 or 10 minutes or so. They are phenomenal!!! (p.s. first time for turnips for me, pleasantly surprised!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly but these turned out mushy and watery. I even cooked them much longer than the recipe called for, hoping they would get crispy but it never happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
leave in till very crispy and eat asap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I flipped after 10 minutes to help cook them evenly. After the 20 minutes total baking time I tossed them in the broiler for 3-4 more minutes a side. This helped crisp them up a bit. If you choose this option make sure you watch them closely, depending on your broiler strength they could burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States