Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
i had never tried trunips before, but these were actually good :-) But couldnt get them crispy, they were very soft, kind of reminded me more or onion rings versus french fries because of the onion powder. But I'm glad I can add another veggie in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
These were amazing! No, they aren't crispy like fries but they are a great alternative if you are looking for low carb or for adding more or different veggies into you meal rotation. I pretty much made exactly using my own purchases spice mix called Nick's Mix which is similar to Lawry's but spicier. I didn't wait for the oven to pre-heat, just put it all in and set the timer for 30 minutes. I took one out and tested it and it was super yummy. I let the rest sit for another 5 or 10 minutes or so. They are phenomenal!!! (p.s. first time for turnips for me, pleasantly surprised!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly but these turned out mushy and watery. I even cooked them much longer than the recipe called for, hoping they would get crispy but it never happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
leave in till very crispy and eat asap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I flipped after 10 minutes to help cook them evenly. After the 20 minutes total baking time I tossed them in the broiler for 3-4 more minutes a side. This helped crisp them up a bit. If you choose this option make sure you watch them closely, depending on your broiler strength they could burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this recipe using turnips and parsnips minus the paprika and it still tasted good. The parsnip fries tasted sweet. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and cooked it for a few minutes less time than needed. Make sure you keep an eye on the fries or they will get too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
It was hard to get them crispy with this technique. I cooked them an extra 10 minutes, and no luck. Kids ate them very reluctantly, and even then, with lots of ketchup. Honestly, I think it's not the recipe, it's the turnips. Adults who can appreciate the peculiar taste of turnips might serve them with a nice steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really wasn't expecting to like these so much! Even my bf was a fan! I didn't really measure anything and I chose olive oil over veg. My turnips were from mom's garden and were much smaller so I just used my noggin to figure out how to cut them and how long to bake them. Great combo of seasonings and easy prep make this a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I think I have learned that I just hate turnips. My turnips had a very strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
So good! Even my husband loved them. I used EVOO instead of veggie oil (since it's all I had on hand) and instead of paprika+onion powder, I added rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States