Crispy Turnip 'Fries' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
low carb 360 network has this similar recipe but...very importantly, what most of the folks are missing in the 'taste' you need peel and rinse them then bring to boil in water with better than bullion or chicken stock for about 15 minute; cool then cut them up and toss in your fav oil, I like xvoo. cook in 400 degree oven, turn in fifteen minutes then cook another 15 or so, You can top with your fav topping, mine...parm chz, lowry's seasoning and lite salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I have made these several times and love them... trick to getting them close to crunchy is that they need to be sliced thin..thinner than what is illustrated in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Yes, you know they are turnips, but you can't stop eating them---and you want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I'm on a low carb diet & wanted to try these. I cut them pretty thin like shoestring fries and used what I had in the pantry: olive/grapeseed/canola blend oil, garlic powder, smoked paprika, parm cheese, some garlic herb seasoning salt, and for kicks I tossed in some garlic/parm popcorn seasoning since I had it sitting around. The smoked paprika gave it a great flavor & aroma combined with all the garlic. I baked for 15 minutes, turned them (they were still soggy at that point), then baked for another 10 on an insulated cookie sheet. DELICIOUS! My husband & 4-yr old son loved them too! They didn't crisp up much, but very flavorful. Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
It was a tasty snack. The turnips were an oddly sweet flavor when you're used to a potato, but it was a good substitute. I just eyeballed olive oil, Parmesan, basil, garlic powder, and salt/pepper. Tossed in a bowl the baked for 20 minutes. One side was a little darker, so maybe I'll flip them next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Yum! I love to try out new recipes with my family. I rarely get any complaints. This one is delicious as well. I do agree with one of the other reviews to turn halfway through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I really loved! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and turn out to be really nice unique exotic flavor for this dish!I really recommend !If are you looking for a healthier way to make this this recipe, coconut oil is a good option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Substitute the vegetable oil with coconut oil to make it LCHF - coconut oil has a far higher temperature threshold then vegetable oil (which you should avoid whilst on LCHF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Le Roux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It was great with guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made these tonight and it came out perfect - seasoning was perfect, the fries were crisp = I didn't have to turn them. but I cut them pretty thin like McDonald's fries and they were crisp all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayne Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States