Crispy Shrimp Tempura Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ellen
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was so GOOD! I lived in Malaysia for many years, and this tastes exactly like how they would make it in local Japanese restaurants. But maybe what I like so much about it is about how easy it is to make, AND cheap. I bought shrimp on sale a couple weeks ago and its been sitting in my freezer with nothing to do. The ingredients were all on hand it it just turned out puffy, golden and crispy! Beautiful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Easy to make recipe. I also fried up onion chunks and sweet potato slices about 1/4 thick that came out very nicely. I fried the vegetables first and then the shrimp so I would not have a cleaner taste for the veggies. I also divided the batter, one for veggies one for shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We used this recipe when we were doing Tempura veggies and ran out of the box mix. This was easier to mix because the water didn't have to be ice cold and tasted and fried exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayleelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I did not use an egg but substituted for 1tbs baking powder. I found this idea on a vegan website. I made veggies for me and shrimp for the DH.I made him shrimp tempura sushi. I used coconut oil and my cast iron skillet. This recipe was awesome!! I flipped my veggies & shrimp in order to get a nice golden color on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was wonderful.I added onion powder n garlic salt for flavor. The batter was fluffy n tasty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Llamas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
it was an excellent recipe! fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Like this batter because I didn't have to put any ice cubes like some other tempura batter recipes require. Otherwise, the recipe is excellent and a keeper. Oh, last thing, I'd add a little more salt for added flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I had 2 pounds of shrimp to cook so I doubled the recipe exactly. I used my deep fryer and kept the temperature at 375. When the shrimp came out they were delicious and crispy for a minute or two, then they began to get soggy. I had to do several batches so most of my shrimp were doomed to sogginess. I solved the problem by quickly dipping the battered shrimp in Panko bread crumbs before frying. These stayed crispy and were very good, but they were not exactly tempura shrimp anymore. This is a good recipe if you do a small amount and be sure to serve it immediately. I’m not sure, but I think this will be true of any tempura shrimp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States