Crispy Rice Cereal Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very good - reminds me of my mom's Peanut Butter balls! My only comments - I would refrigerate a the mix (dough) a few minutes before trying to form into balls, otherwise they're a sticky mess. Secondly, 1 cup choc. chips just b-a-r-e-l-y covered all of them (I got 29 balls - FYI). Might want to dip sparingly or add a 1/4 c. choc chips to the recipe. Otherwise great, and easy! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
These are good little morsels that taste like peanut butter cups. Definitely increase the chocolate by at least another 1/4 cup. I highly recommend refrigerating the formed balls for a little bit to help firm them up. It really helped when dipping them into the warm chocolate. I think I will crush the cereal a little next time. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I have used a recipe very similiar to this for years. I put mini paper cups inside of mini-cupcake pans and pat the rice crispie mixture into the bottom then top with chocolate. Easier to freeze, store and transport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
These are great! I would make one suggestion - you can crush the krispies for a smoother filling. We made little mice shapes and garnished with half peanuts for ears and a pretzel stick tail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was a great recipe - I made them for Christnas Day and everyone ate them up quickly. Only thing I did differently (just because it was easier and quicker) was that I drizzled the chocolate over the top of the balls instead of dunking and covering them completely. They turned out very pretty and there was plenty of chocolate left over. These will definately be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
4+. These are great! My 5 yr old helped me and could almost do the whole thing herself, which is really nice to find recipes that kids can make. She loved eating them too. The only thing I would like to point out about the recipe to others trying it,it says it makes 24, so I tripled it because I needed more, and I got 82 that are 1-1 1/2 inches wide. Not that I mind having more than I needed..:)just wanted people to know it makes quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This recipe is very, very tasty! I used it to make 2 very large Easter eggs and a bunch of small ones (I doubled the recipe). The larger your balls, the less chocolate you're going to need! Just a heads up. I used crunchy peanut butter and wish I hadn't--it made it quite a bit harder to get the eggs to hold their shape. I also took other reviewers' advice and squished my rice krispies (which had about a 1/4c. cornflakes in too...didn't want to open another box & cornflakes were open). Another thing...I have been replacing half of our real sugar with fake sugar for a long time now, so this candy with its full amount of powdered sugar was almost too rich for me. I'm going to do something about that next time but I'm not going to just omit the sugar because the recipe really NEEDS the powder there to help make the PB workable. Might just change out for Splenda, or maybe use a sugar-free PB (assuming I can find a decent brand, bleh). I'd recommend this tasty recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very good peanut butter balls. The crisped rice cereal gives them a nice slightly crunchy texture. I prefer these to the 'smoother' pb balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Very tasty and rich, it made 30 bite size balls for me. I had read some of the reviews and I'm glad I did. I crushed the rice cereal down just a bit and then refrigerated the mixture a few minutes before forming into balls. Then I put the balls in the freezer for a few minutes while I got the dipping chocolate ready. I used 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips and about 2 tbs. shortening. I needed it all for the dipping to be sure. Really everyone loved them and I will make them again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good. Made this like the oreo balls type of cookie. Put the mix in the freezer and used a bit at a time while lettting it get firmer. Also used chocolate almond bark instead of choc. chips since we were out. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States