Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Mmmmm, yummy! I'm not quite sold on the cornflakes topping though, didn't think the cornflake taste quite meshed, next time I'll try chopped walnuts or pecans instead. Other than that it was all delicious awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The pie, overall, was okay but I didn't enjoy the topping, though my husband did. I found the topping way too greasy. If I were to make it again, rather than lessen the quantity of butter, I'd use more of the other ingredients because I would have preferred more topping. Also,if there is a next time, I'd add cinnamon to the rhubarb mixture as well as the topping. Rhubarb and cinnamon - just made to go together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James C. Bingham
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Substituted oatmeal for the Corn Flakes. Baked for 10 minutes longer and removed it from the oven. Came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James C. Bingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianae Weeks
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Nice when you can't decide between a crisp and a pie. I went with the walnut pieces instead of crushed cereal. Less carbs and more Omega 3 healthy fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae Weeks
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This pie is wonderful!! I doubled the crumb topping like others suggested, and I used a little more rhubarb, about 4 1/2 cups, and it turned out perfect. Will definately be making this again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Awesome! 2 things: definitely double the topping per other reviewers and if you are using a deep pie dish like I did, you can increase your filling as well by at least a cup of rhubarb (don't forget to add an extra dash of sugar and flour to the mix as well). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have never made a rhubarb pie, so I had no idea if it would be any good. Being from the midwest, I've had rhubarb pies/crisps quite a few times. It's one of those things that is so specific, you don't know if everyone will like it. I decided to try this recipe and it was absolutely delicious!! And, very, very quick to prepare and easy to make. The topping really gives you the best of both worlds - pie and crisp. I used a premade pie crust and it worked great (put tinfoil around the sides, take off about 15 minutes or so before the pie is done). I was worried about the rhubarb being too tart, so I added a bit of brown sugar to the white sugar/rhubarb mix. It set up perfectly, went great with vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great, simple, delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I did not have any type of flake cereal at home so instead I ground up walnuts and used in place and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
great recipe. I had never made a rhubarb pie before and hadn't had good luck with crisps so I wasn't sure how I'd do. I've made 4 pies now with this recipe and every one of them have been fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
As a fan of rhubarb pie, I was excited to try this one! I had to make one substitution-frosted flakes for corn flakes. I did double the topping as people noted and I added a bit less brown sugar since the flakes were frosted! Yummy! Tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica L Antel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States