Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Although my husband liked this pie the rest of us didn't really care for it. We felt it had much to much sugar and the corn flakes didn't really go with the "crust." It was fairly easy to make but not one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
I loved this pie! I made it in a 12" pie pan. After reading the reviews, I doubled everything. baked it for an hour then let it sit in the oven for an hour and it made a perfect 12" pie. It was a full, sweet and tangy, crispy masterpiece. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I can't wait for apple season. I want to try this crispy topping on an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
excellent! Because of other reviews I doubled the topping and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
The perfect pie for 4th of July, my family loved it! I doubled the topping, and added about a cup of strawberries to "fill-in" the filling a little. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I also doubled the topping. I had all the ingrediants ready and realized I did not have pie dough... What to do? I am known for "winging it" soooo... I buttered my glass pie pan real slick and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over it. I then cut the crusts off of some white bread and smooshed it into the bottom and sides of my pan. I then followed the recipe. It turned out yummy. Usually the crust does not stay intact when I try to serve it. The bread not only turned a lovely brown, and served up intact but the little cinnamon on the bottom was just right! And to top it all... It was a cinch to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I am not a big rhubarb fan but my husband is. this is a delicious and easy recipe. THe topping really adds extra sweetness that rhubarb often needs. I doubled the topping just to be sure. I would definitely keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Very good and as simple as it gets.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Oh my! This was my first experience with rhubarb and it was absolutely heavenly. It could use a little more topping to really cover the top but other than that it was fantastic! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Very yummy, a nice change from traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
unbelievable!I used 1 cup rhubarb and 3 cups raspberriesfor the filling. on the topping I substituted corn chex cereal. very easy and delicious! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States