Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Just finished baking 2 pies they look and smell great! Can't wait to try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Forget the rhubarb!! I will make this just for the crisp and add another fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I can't say enough about this recipe. It was fantastic! It's like rhubarb crisp and rhubarb pie all in one but better than both. I followed the directions exactly and used the "best ever pie crust" recipe on this site for the crust. I used frozen rhubarb and drained it well after thawing so that my pie wouldn't be too wet. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I used a bag of frozen rhubarb which was 4 cups. I adjusted everything and added a little extra topping as suggested by someone. I used a frozen pie shell (defrosted). For some reason the pie was really wet and the pie shell was kind of mushy. Still had a good taste. Due to it being wet I gave it 4 stars and will probably try something else next time. Michele, cambridge, ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Unbelieveable! I have never had rhubarb before and I think it just might be my favorite pie ever! So easy and delicious - can't say enough about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I really liked this recipe and it was very straightforward. The reason I gave it 4 stars was because my dad, who is a rhubarb fanatic, thought the topping was too much. I, on the other hand, was left wondering why I have poured milk on cornflakes all these years when brown sugar and melted butter is so much more delicious! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Excellent pie. Easy to make and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I have never cooked with rhubarb before. This pie was both easy and quick to prepare. I used a pre-made deep dish pie crust. Changed rhubarb to 4 cups and added a little extra sugar and flour to compensate for the additional rhubarb. Made 1 1/2 times the amount of topping and it was perfect. My husband raved over the pie. I didn't have plain corn flakes so I used frosted flakes. It was good. Next time I might substitute oatmeal for the corn flakes to see how that works. Corn flakes are slightly chewy after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipe turn my non rhubarb loving husband into a ravinous rhubarb-pie eating monster! I did use a 9 inch pie plate. Added an extra cup of rhubarb and 1/3C xtra sugar and tsp extra flour. Then for the topping I used Rice Krispies and just about doubled all toppings also. Baked it in a gas oven for additional 30 minutes, then shut off and let sit for an hour also. Nearly divine! I planted extra rhubarb this year for this pie alone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDMIST

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joyce, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Fabulous pie. I've never done rhubarb without berries before, so I was hesitant. It tasted great, and the topping is one I will use on other pies in the future. I used some extra corn flakes because I like lots of crispiness with my crumble topping. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States