Crispy Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by James C. Bingham
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Substituted oatmeal for the Corn Flakes. Baked for 10 minutes longer and removed it from the oven. Came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James C. Bingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Nice when you can't decide between a crisp and a pie. I went with the walnut pieces instead of crushed cereal. Less carbs and more Omega 3 healthy fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This pie is wonderful!! I doubled the crumb topping like others suggested, and I used a little more rhubarb, about 4 1/2 cups, and it turned out perfect. Will definately be making this again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Awesome! 2 things: definitely double the topping per other reviewers and if you are using a deep pie dish like I did, you can increase your filling as well by at least a cup of rhubarb (don't forget to add an extra dash of sugar and flour to the mix as well). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have never made a rhubarb pie, so I had no idea if it would be any good. Being from the midwest, I've had rhubarb pies/crisps quite a few times. It's one of those things that is so specific, you don't know if everyone will like it. I decided to try this recipe and it was absolutely delicious!! And, very, very quick to prepare and easy to make. The topping really gives you the best of both worlds - pie and crisp. I used a premade pie crust and it worked great (put tinfoil around the sides, take off about 15 minutes or so before the pie is done). I was worried about the rhubarb being too tart, so I added a bit of brown sugar to the white sugar/rhubarb mix. It set up perfectly, went great with vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great, simple, delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I did not have any type of flake cereal at home so instead I ground up walnuts and used in place and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
great recipe. I had never made a rhubarb pie before and hadn't had good luck with crisps so I wasn't sure how I'd do. I've made 4 pies now with this recipe and every one of them have been fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
As a fan of rhubarb pie, I was excited to try this one! I had to make one substitution-frosted flakes for corn flakes. I did double the topping as people noted and I added a bit less brown sugar since the flakes were frosted! Yummy! Tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I was sold when I read very few changes to the original recipe. This was a hit at a Memorial Day picnic. I believe it will even convert those who think they don't like rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I didn't have enough rhubarb so I added about a cup of strawberries to the mix. Used a pre-made crust from Trader Joe's and added extra crispy topping. MAN was this good. I'm usually not a pie lover but this was amazing. We ate almost half the pie when it came out the oven. Will make again and again. So simple and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States