Crispy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Great way to eat potatoes! I used 4 smaller potatoes and increased the flour a little. I ran my potatoes and onion through my food processor on grate. I rinsed the shredded ingredients and then soaked in salted water until I was ready to make the pancakes. I'm glad I rinsed first because it got rid of a lot of the starch, and the soaking ensured the potatoes didnt turn brown. My family topped them with sour cream. Served with Garlic Cheddar Chicken from this site and green beans. My daughter said that this was a great dinner! May add shredded carrot or zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Just like Grandma use to make. Perfect for Hanukah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Yummy. Just like like my grandmas. One of my favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Wow... this is delicious! I/we loved it. I didn't have any garlic powder so I used two cloves of garlic... yum. I also used virgin coconut oil for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
thank you for introducing this recipe! (i don't cook often) but i tried this, and it was easy and tastes amazing. My boyfriend and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have loved potato cakes since I can remember and this recipe is so easy and equally tasty. They fry up so crispy and that's just the way we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These were very tasty. My husband and I really like crispy hashbrowns and these fit the bill perfectly. I used butter instead of vegetable oil to fry them in and then let them drain on some paper towel for a few minutes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I was thinking of Mom today and missing her. Back on the farm in Vermont, where I grew up, and incidentally, the one she grew up on as well, she used to make the most wonderfully simple, yet wonderfully delicious potato pancakes, for all five of us kids! We'd all get excited and it became a weekly staple. So many recipes call for corn meal this, milk that, cream even! I was longing for the simple goodness of my childhood, and I found it in this recipe, thanks very much! light, crispy and slathered with good ole French's yellow mustard! Mom would be proud ;) A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JonnyTexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very, Very good. We used red potatoes because it was what we had. Get's rid of the goopy Grey colored hashbrowns we've attempted in the past. We hope to make these a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Thank you for putting me out of my misery. After years of searching and hundreds of attempts, I've finally been able to make potato pancakes that are crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States