Crispy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is ok, not something that I would make very often . I thought that they would be more crunchi and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Perfect Recipe!!! My boyfriend loved them too, my recommendation is to cook long enough that the outside is crispy, and I added a pinch of seasoning salt to the batter. But the five star rating is based on the original recipe, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very easy to make resulting in a crispy potato pancake, just the way I like them. I did put the shredded potato in salted water first to remove starch and keep them from turning brown, rinsed, and dried them in a towel before adding to the egg mixture. I served them with sour cream and chopped crisp bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Amazing! That is what the husband said. And they definitely were sooo good! I think the garlic powder added that extra goodness to it. And I would not make these without onion. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These pancakes are truly the best. Some suggestions: I had a huge container of cold already mashed potatoes from a Thanksgiving Dinner. They were cold, so put them in oven at 325 and just let them warm up. The onion I used was just onion powder--I didn't want to taste the crunchiness of the onion, just the flavor of the onion. Did not add any pepper. To fry them, I have discovered Coconut oil. It fries better than butter and doesn't splatter like veggie oil. I have made many potato pancake recipes from this site and this is what I will come back to again and again. My hubby and I enjoyed these most warm with homemade maple syrup from here also. Great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Really good. I add paprika, basil, garlic and onion powder. Add chopped bell peppers, fresh parsley and chopped onions. Really yummy and easy to re-heat if you half fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I just made these for breakfast as a side for biscuits sausage & gravy & it was delicious & easy. I didn't change anything except I used very little olive oil in a cast iron frying pan(worked well),& I am out garlic powder so I used garlic salt & omitted the plain salt. It was the perfect amount for just us two. I used my food processor to shred the potatoes & onion. I think these will be great for supper too as a side dish. Thanks for this tasty treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texsara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
i made these from a Jewish cookbook,but my husband rated these a 1,000 times better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaC2020
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I have been looking for the perfect recipe for Potato Pancakes for some time; well I found it! These are the best, just like when I was a kid. I made no changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaC2020

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I love the simplicity of this recipe. Tasted just like the ones we used to have on the farm! The only change I made was to double the recipe and good thing I did because my usually picky two year old gobbled them right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOJUL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States