Crispy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
These were a hit in our family. I grate the potatoes into a salad spinner full of cold water - triple rinse to remove the potato starch and spin dry. The result is beautifully crispy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very good! Definitely fry in a skillet versus a griddle (I used a griddle and the sides didn't get crispy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilglossonsmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
We loved these potatoes! They were great as is and with some shredded cheddar sprinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Mmmmm. These were delicious. I left out the nutmeg but I added a little garlic. I also squeezed out the excess liquid from the potatoes. With the help of my food processor, this recipe was quick, easy and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
LOVE IT!!!!!!!! One bite, and I was in heaven. Really fun and easy to make. A precaution is that when you put it on the pan, it will be very liquidy and sloppy. there will be leftover 'juice' in your bowl. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
absolutely delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I was looking for a different side dish, this fit the bill!! Great consistency and flavor. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I made them for my family and my daughter who usually turns her nose up at potatoes took seconds. I need to read the reviews as to how to decrease the liquid. They were hard to shape into patties. But, we will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnzeeJ
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this recipe. I added green onions and replaced nutmeg with a heavy dose of chilli powder. I wasn't sure if the mixture was supposed to be so wet (I clothe dried the potatoes, but still wet) so I added a bit extra flower. I also added seasoning salt and the pepper. I read they put garlic in thought that was a good idea so I added 2 cloves. But Im not supposed to eat fried food so I baked them at 425 until brown then flipped them over. After they were basically cooked through I added some shredded sharp cheddar and topped with a dab of sour cream and salsa!! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnzeeJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These had a good flavor, but one would be in the kitchen all day following the directions as is! Instead of peeling and shredding 2 lbs of potatoes with a grater, I just used 1 2lb 4oz bag of defrosted Ora-Ida hashbrown potatoes. I used a sweet yellow onion and it was gigantic, so I just used one onion. It would have taken forever, and a lot of tears, to mince the thing so I just chopped it large and then put in my Vitamix blender on medium speed about 10-20 seconds, processing them down with the tamper. It created closer to a puree. It worked fine and at least I know the onions got cooked through. Lastly, I highly suggest using a a large plug-in griddle if making the recipe. Only 4 will fit in a standard sized pan and I found one batch takes 20 minutes. I got 14 patties, using a mashed potato scoop, and all would fit on one of those large rectangular plug in griddles at one time. That would save a full hour of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States