Crispy Pork Cutlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The most interesting part of this recipe is the cream gravy. The dill pickles gave it a very unique taste and crunchy texture which I enjoy. I just don't quite get the jalapeños... It didn't add much heat to the gravy which I kind of expected because of the amount of milk involved, so is it just to add color and texture? Or did it add some taste that I am unaware of? It was a little bland to start and needed the W sauce and some salt to help it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Ive made this recipe over a dozen times now. I cant find the words to say how awesome it is! I dont have a meat tenderizer thing so I snagged my my mother-in-laws tiny cast iron skillet and use that. Its heavy and smooth on the bottom so it dosnt tear up the meat while thinning it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Perfectly crispy coating! I skipped the jalapeno in the sauce since I'm not a fan, and after tasting it I decided to add a squirt of Dijon. I also cheated and used pickle relish. Came out really, really good! Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I used turkey cutlets and the dish turned out very nicely. However the gravy sounds extremely unappealing, so I quickly made some regular gravy from a packet instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ballet4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I will never cook my pork any other way this recipe is the boob I served it with spaetzl it was a great dinner always looking for something different and this is a great recipe and you can find the spaetzl recipe on allrecipes as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Sorry Chef John! I usually love your recipes, but this cream gravy was way off the mark for my taste buds. I made it exactly as written but it had an off-putting wallpaper paste taste (I let my flour cook so not sure why it got stuck in the "raw flour" taste state) that couldn't be saved even with all the 'should-be' flavorful additions of dill pickles and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I followed the video and instructions except I did not use pork tenderloin but boneless pork loins. I found the pork to be tender and juicy but I ended up really cooking the crust almost black while part of the pork was still pink inside. It might have been the cast iron skillet I used...I am new to using cast iron. I liked the gravy. It cooked up just like you demonstrated. However, even with the cayenne and jalapenos..I wished it had more spice....dinner was enjoyed by all when I finally cooked the pork thoroughly. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
What’s not to love about gravy that includes baby dill pickles? This dish is a refreshing change of pace, and will definitely make over and over. Did not alter a thing and turned out excellent. Will try a variation using boneless skinless chicken breasts next. Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Made this last night, we didn't change a thing and everyone loved it!!! This is a keeper, we will definatly make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Tafoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was fantastic! The pork was still crispy the next day, and the gravy was delicious. I wish I'd made a double serving! Even my boyfriend, who isn't a huge fan of jalapenos (or spice in general) adored it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States