Crispy Oven-Fried Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I love this recipe! I don't like frying anything, so this was perfect. I used panko bread crumbs and seasoned them with salt and pepper and powdered garlic. I followed the milk, flour, milk, panko crumbs sequence in the original recipe. The crust was light and flakey and the fish was very tender and nothing was at all soggy. I made a avocado and jalapeno tartar sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made one change in this recipe, that was to dip the fish first in flour then the milk before dipping into the crouton crumbs, the breading stayed on and didn't have a mushy texture as the other reviewer stated. My daughter normally picks off breading but loved this one so it is a keeper. Next time I may try tweaking it a little just to see what I can come up with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
You will never deep fry again.....didn't read the directions too good and mixed the flour with the bread crumbs. It was great, dipped in milk, added desired seasoning then dipped in flour, crumb mixture. the last step of spraying on the cooking spray makes it come out like fried. Used fresh catfish but any fish would be good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I really liked this recipe! I skipped the first milk-dunk and started with salt and pepper, then flour, then milk, then breadcrumbs. I had some pretty thick filets, so I baked them for 15 minutes. The breading was PERFECT. It got crispy and stayed intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I also skipped the first dipping in milk, seasoned the flour with salt and pepper, and cooked on parchment paper and found it was lovely and crispy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTBATT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I am always looking for alternatives to fried. We've done the baked thing to the point we don't like it anymore, but this recipe gave me some ideas. I also did the flour, milk and crumb sequence using crushed cheesits instead of bread crumbs. Really spiced up the flavors and the crunch was fantastic. Being easy to do didn't hurt either. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This recipe was easy and yummy. I also dipped in flour, milk, then bread crumbs after seasoning the flour. Most certainly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Excellent. Dipped in seasoned flour, milk, then Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Fantastic, although I took some huge liberties with the recipe. to the flour i added 1/4 (just under) instant mashed potato flakes-i had seen them used in another fish recipe. i seasoned this mix with dill, italian seasoning and paprika. The coating i had croutons, but not enough, so i added the rest of a box of cheez-its to the croutons. still a little shy for coating i added a little crisp rice cereal. About two minutes before i took them out of the oven i sprinkled with fried onions. A winner! Great coating. mine did cook a bit longer then ten minutes, but they were still a little frozen. We should be eating more fish now that i have such an easy way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Great. Simple. Used panko instead of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLS34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States