Crispy Oven-Fried Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Cornmeal is a must in the south. So I used Masa corn meal, Old Bay seasoning and salt pepper. I soaked the fish in in heavy cream until I was ready. I don't believe in those processed "healthy oils" (learn how they are made and you won't either W.A Price.org) a little good old bacon grease for flavor(that our bodies know how to digest) and olive oil. I started out cooking at 450 for 10 min then when I noticed it wasn't getting crisp I raised it to the top rack and broiled for 5 minutes. It was perfect as good as any backyard fish fry I have ever attended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This fish was pretty good, but not the best I've had. I used Cheese and Garlic croutons (that's all I had) and they gave a good flavor, but it just wasn't strong enough. My family said it was okay, but asked me to make Mrs7up's Parmesan Puffed Tilapia instead, next time I make fish :) I also found that 2 cups of croutons made too many crumbs for four 4oz. fillets of fish...I probably used more like 1 1/2 cups. The one really nice thing about this recipe is that it is super easy and quick to make...it was ready in 20 minutes, or maybe even less. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Skillet
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is a good dish. I mis-read the recipe and bought whiting. I added some glazed roasted pecans and almonds to the croutons, which added a sweet, earthy flavor. Others had dipped in milk first then flour but when I did it this way the croutons wouldn't adhere. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was so good! I used cod for this and had no trouble with the coating being mushy but that may be because I dipped my fish into egg substitute instead of the milk. Very nice and served it with a horseradish sauce on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
very good...I did as others said and seasoned the flour, plus I used panko crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I had my doubts about this recipe...fish, croutons...not too sure. But went ahead and made it and I must say it was A BIG HIT at my house. I thought my husband wouldn't go for it but he loved it. My kids did too! It was a great healthy recipe and now is saved in my recipe box with my other favourite ones. The only thing I didnt use was the Pepperidge Farms Cut Zesty because I had no idea what it was and I didn't have any so I used fine breadcrumbs combined with the crushed multigran croutons I had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
A great simple family favorite, add some homemade chips ('fries' to you non anglophiles) and malt vinegar and you're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherwood McGowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I'm giving it 4 stars because it never got really crispy. In fact, the bottoms were a little soggy. I used Mahi Mahi, milk dunk, flour seasoned with Tony Charere's, milk dunk and seasoned italian bread crumbs. I think if I make it again, I will flip the fish over so it gets crispiER on both sides. All in all, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Super easy to make and my kid who is a picky eater, loved it. I used Tilapia this time around since that is all I could get my hands on at the grocery store. I cooked it for 15-20 mins since the chunks of fish were on the thick side. I'll be making this again, thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Fantastic, although I took some huge liberties with the recipe. to the flour i added 1/4 (just under) instant mashed potato flakes-i had seen them used in another fish recipe. i seasoned this mix with dill, italian seasoning and paprika. The coating i had croutons, but not enough, so i added the rest of a box of cheez-its to the croutons. still a little shy for coating i added a little crisp rice cereal. About two minutes before i took them out of the oven i sprinkled with fried onions. A winner! Great coating. mine did cook a bit longer then ten minutes, but they were still a little frozen. We should be eating more fish now that i have such an easy way to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States