Crispy Oven-Fried Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was delicious. I used my own seasoned bread crumbs, and needed far less than the 2 cups stated in the recipe. The amounts of milk and flour were right on, though. My husband had two fillets, and was very pleased with them. My fillets were a bit thick, so I baked them for 5 minutes - they were crispy but juicy. The recipe is both easy and tasty - my kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I had to make this gluten and dairy free so.... I used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free flour, Glutino bread crumbs (maybe 1 cups worth) and added about 1/4 cup of corn meal to the bread crumbs. I seasoned the crumb/corn meal mixture with about 2 Tbsp porterhouse seasoning (yeah, I know...this is fish but this seasoning is good on everything) and used plain, unsweetened almond milk for dipping. I dipped in the flour then the almond milk and then the cornmeal mixture and placed on baking pan sprayed with olive oil then sprayed the fillets with olive oil. Baked for 15 minutes - perfect! Satisfied the desire for fried fish just fine! My GF kiddo ate two pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This worked really well for me. I dipped in flour, milk, crumbs as others suggested. Next time will add a little seasoning and it will make it a 5 star recipe for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I am not sure why our family had such a differing opinion on this recipe, but only 1 in 5 liked it. We won't be making this again. I guess we are just too used to fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Made this recipe with nice, thick cod loins. Put a little bit of olive oil on the bottom of a glass pan, and then mopped up most of it with a paper towel. Instead of the milk, I dipped the cod loins in egg and then in organic bread crumbs, and baked at 450 degrees for about 20 minutes. These were just like the fish you get when you are eating the "fried fish " from fish and chips fame, but without all the extra fat! Delicious!!! Will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Made this with flounder filets last night, and really liked it. I like crispy breading, but prefer not to fry, and hadn't found an oven-baked recipe that did it. This recipe worked. I think the trick is spraying with vegetable oil. Again, I'd prefer not to use the oil, so I only sprayed 2 out of the 3 filets to see the difference. And the ones that were sprayed did in fact come out crispier than the non-sprayed one. The non-sprayed one was still tasty, it just didn't have quite the same crunch. I dredged in flour, then dipped in milk, and finally coated in a mix of seasoned panko crumbs (75%) and Italian bread crumbs (25%).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Oh my gosh....great recipe taste like fish sticks. The only changes I made was I put fish in bowl, poured milk over the fish and seasoned. I combined flour, croutons and added 4 tablespoons of bread crumbs in a ziplock bag. Added fish to the ziplock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very good light healthy fish. Added cayenne salt & pepper to flour. Used panko Italian bread crumbs. Used olive oil instead of spray. Drizzled top of fish with olive oil. Big hit with husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My husband is hard to please and my daughter usually don't eat fish but they both loved this. It turned out crispy and flavorable. I did add zataran flour mix seasoning instead of flour, garlic salt & a drop of mustard for added taste & it was delicious. A staple, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly...always do the first time. It worked, we loved it and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICATER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States