Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Fantasic! We moved to a very small midwestern town and had given up on getting our favorite asian dishes. When we got the craving, we decided to try out some homemade stuff. Stumbling across this recipe, it was an easy choice to try it. This was easy and fun and tasted better than any delivery we ever had in SF or Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Wow! I made this tonight and man is it tasty! It smelled wonderful, too. As I was making it I thought it was taking too much time and attention to make very often (although it wasn't difficult) but when I tasted it I think I changed my mind. The fam dug it. I will probably make it for company or next time I bring a dish to church. As for the orange zest, I don't have a zester so I just grated the outside of the orange then chopped it up a little with the spatula while it was cooking with the sauce in the pan. It was fine. The leftovers were just as crispy the next day. Maybe sprinkle with sesame seeds next time for decoration?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I have never made something like this that tasted like it came from a restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
You can't go wrong with recipe. My first time making it, and it was perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POMSTAR77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Took alot of time, but it was worth it. I drained all of the oil and used 1 tablespoon of fresh oil when doing the sauce, there was quite a bit of the cornstarch in the bottom of my pan that I did not want to have in my sauce and it turned out wonderful. I used ginger powder instead of fresh, seemed to be fine. I have made this twice now, the second time was with chicken, I loved it, it was almost better then with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
The sauce is the secret ingredient - a bit on the sweet side, but tempered by the broccoli. The family agreed: "Yes, make it again sometime." I really didn't follow the recipe very closely, but was pleased that it came out well so that I didn't waste 1-1/2 lbs. of beef. I didn't coat the beef in corn starch and fry it, I simply sliced it thin and browned it using olive oil spray. I also added sauteed, coarsely chopped onion (which I browned prior to browning the beef). I also used 4 cups of broccoli florets instead of the small amount listed. I decreased the ginger to only 2 TBSP because 3 seemed like an awful lot. A word of caution: If you use dried orange zest, only add about 1 tsp. instead of 2. The next time I make this, I will probably add a few thin, diagonally sliced carrots for additional color. So, maybe I didn't make this exact recipe, but the secret is in the sauce, anyway! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe is awesome! It is quite a bit of work and I had problems keeping the oil the right temperature but it sure does taste good. I added a bit of red pepper flakes along with the ginger, garlic and zest as per another user, but that is just because I enjoy the hot flavor. Also, I drained some thinly sliced tofu on paper towels with the beef and fried it and it was great. The sauce is too good for words. I was thinking I may add some waterchestnuts next time I cook this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Made this last night and my family loved it! I reduced the ginger to 2 TBSP as well. I also reduced the amount of oil used to fry the beef, to 1 Cup instead of 2 Cups. I will use a thinner cut of beef next time I make this dish, as I know the thinner the slice, the more tender the beef is. This is definitely a KEEPER! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Made this for the family last night. 4 different kids with different tastes and they all loved it! I used fresh orange juice rather than the concentrate and it came out just fine! I would taste the "syrup" before you add the beef to be sure it has the balance of orange (sweet & tangy)and Soy Sauce (to each his or her own). This receipe is complete and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Loved this recipe and I will send it on to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States