Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I love this recipe! I do tweak it just a little but the gist of the recipe stays the same. I half the sugar and vinegar (I just used regular vinegar) I also just used dried garlic and ginger and just eyeball the amount..probably 1/4t each. I also use 1/3 cup regular orange juice. A lot of reviews double the sauce but unless you like it super saucy its just fine the way it is for me. Of course I'm using 1/3 c. OJ instead of the frozen concentrate so that probably makes more. I serve with rice and broccoli. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made this tonight for dinner. All the family liked it other than it needed more sauce. Next time, I will double the sauce and add a bit more garlic. I also used 1/3 cup orange juice as I read in other reviews. Will definetly rotate in my menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Has the potential to be an awesome dish but WAY too sweet. I made the dish exactly how it is written. Made the dish and then served it all over rice. The rice at the bottom was inedible b/c the extra sauce fell down there and ti was crazy sweet. So use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troym40
Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
trick to crispy beef is not to stir it, learned midway tonight. Can't wait to taste it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I'm sure this was user error, but my beef never got crispy. Just greasy and soggy, even though the oil was hot, and I'd shaken off the excess cornstarch. I let it continue cooking until browned. Even though I didn't achieve "crispy" I thought this was very good, and very close to what we would have at our local Asian restaurant. I would have been happy to make it again, but my family did not love the flavor. Tangy citrus may not appeal to everyone. Still, I thought the sauce and recipe were great. I paired with jasmine rice and the steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Awesome!! Followed the suggestions of some of the reviews, made double the sauce, and used fresh green beans instead of the broccoli (as I did not have any on hand). Served with Jasmine Rice. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing, BEC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Just made this and it was so good. My 6 yr old is actually stealing the beef from his brothers plate.... lol I did double the sauce like the other viewers said but next time i will also double the beef... Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiatta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very authentic, absolutely delicious! I double the sauce to make it go farther over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good recipe! I thought flavors blended well together in just the right amounts and the prep time was actually pretty close for me! I usually take much longer than indicated. Next time I will cut meat down to 1 lb and add a little more broccoli to balance out the ratio of meat to rice to broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Too tangy. Vinegar flavor is too strong, and sauce could use some corn starch for thickening. The second time, I tried making a modified version of the sauce from "Addictive Sesame Chicken" recipe on here for this... 1/2 cup OJ, 1 cup beef broth, 1/4 cup white vinegar, 1/4 cup cornstarch, 1 cup white sugar, 2 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 tsp orange zest, 1 tbs minced garlic, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, cayenne pepper to taste. Gives it a much sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States