Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I thought this tasted pretty good. It was reminiscent of a dish from an upscale Asian restaurant. I had 1/2 lb stir fry beef, so I just made 1/2 recipe. The only change I made was reducing the ginger, just because I find it to be too strong, and I only used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and it was plenty to crisp the beef. I can't imagine needing 1-2 cups. I steamed the broccoli in the microwave and just made some brown rice, in my rice cooker, to go on the side. I would suggest using pre-cut stir fry beef, it saved a lot of time. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I started making this one night for dinner thinking it wasn't going to take me very long to make. The prep time was longer then I thought. I cut the beef up into small strips, that took awhile, then to dry and refrigerate and dip each peice into cornstarch, seemed to take forever. Maybe if you put the beef peices into a bowl and tosted them around to cover them with cornstarch, would have been a great way to save time. I tweeked the recipe a little, I doubled the sauce like others suggested, I added red pepper flakes for a little heat, and I also added chopped onion to the ginger and orange zest, then cooked them in the sauce till tender. It turned out amazing! The only thing I would probably change. I would add a little more red pepper flakes maybe 2 tsp instead of one,...if you like some heat, and I wouldn't add as much grated ginger to it. All I could teast was the ginger,...but was still out of this world. Definetly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved this, it reminded me of a Chinese place that I go to. I also know my family loves sauce so I doubled the sauce except for the salt. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was very differnt. I loved the orange flavor. Served it over rice. Next time I would add a little spice to the orange. Maybe some pepper flakes or a chopped pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This turned out very well! The flavors are excellent. It's crispy, sweet, and tangy. I'm dinging a star because you really need to double the amount of sauce for the amount of meat. If I had not doubled the sauce, it would not have covered the beef. I followed the recipe exactly with only two exceptions - I used half brown sugar and half white which I think imparts a richer flavor than the white only would do. I also eliminated the salt as I thought the soy sauce would be salty enough and only used 2T of the ginger. The next time I make this I will add some red pepper flakes as we like a bit of a kick. This took me longer than indicated, but as I worked I figured out more efficient ways of working this and next time will do a couple of things differently. First, I will slice the meat in the morning and throw it in a baggie, then set it to 'dry' while mixing up the sauce and prepping the rice. Cornstarch and beef can be tossed in a baggie and then the excess can be shaken off in a fine mesh sieve which helps reduce the amount of cornstarch accumulating in the oil. Those two choices make this something that can easily be accomplished for a weeknight dinner. Overall, this is a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Solid recipe, I enjoyed it. I think maybe next time I might sub in brown sugar and use a bit less vinegar, I wanted something a bit more caramel-y, I think the combo of so much rice vinegar and white sugar gave it almost a burnt sugar taste. Still delicious, I'd just prefer a slightly mellower flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
A Little too sweet but otherwise great flavor! Will make again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is amazing. I love PF Changs and it reminds me of one of their dishes.Really easy to make, too! I did not fry it beforehand and it was still delicious! Also used orange juice with no cornstarch or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My husband and I made it together and our family's only regret is that we did not make double the recipe! FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was a very flavorful recipe. The ginger was overpowering, so next time I'll use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States