Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe ROCKS! My wife was very skeptical about beef and orange in the same dish but this meal made her a believer. We loved the crispiness of the fried cornstarch on the lean sirloin beef...a heavier breading would be not as crisp. The sauce is amazing and is delightfully sweet and sticky without being over done. Definitely reminds me of orange beef I had 20+ years ago that I just cannot seem to replicate. Until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DGM31
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I was surprised at how quickly the beef cooked, each batch was done in about a minute. The longer you fry it, the crispier it gets. The sauce was so yummy, I will definitely double it next time. I added a 1/2 tsp of sesame oil to the sauce, and it added a nice smoky/nutty flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made this for the whole family, including 2 boys ages 6 and 5. They loved it! I made the sauce pretty much as stated with maybe a little more of the OJ concentrate because I knew they would love it. I didn't worry too much about frying it perfectly so I used less oil and just tossed the beef with flour before sauteeing it. Topped it all off with toasted sesame seeds and a whole bunch of broccoli....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is the best - I added chopped green onions on top when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very good. The texture was a bit off for me a little pasty I guess is a good word. Not sure how to describe it. Maybe I used too much cornstarch or didn't cook the beef long enough. Will make again though because it was good and will experiment with above mentioned items and see if comes out more to my liking. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Thank you BEC! I made your Crispy Orange Beef just as you instructed, and it was excellent! It took me 2 hours and the cooktop and floor were covered in grease, but it was worth it! I will make it for company, but I will do steps 1 and 2 the night before, clean up, and do steps 3 and 4 just before serving. Maybe I will save some of the oil from the beef frying in step 3, to use the next day to sautee the ginger, garlic and orange...that way I won't lose any of the flavor. It will be fast and clean. I plan to make a second batch of slightly thinner sauce the night before, too, to go over the rice and I will double the amount per person because it is hard to stop eating it! My husband and I ate 4 servings between us. I ate some of the left over crispy orange beef cold, straight from the fridge this morning, and it was still crispy! and even stickier. and soooo gooooooood. I will share this recipe with people I love. It is better than any Chinese food I have ever had at a restaurant, and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
My recommendation for those of you that are not getting crispy beef to make sure that you are using a very lean cut of beef (no marbling), to make certain you are cutting the slices as thin as possible, to cook only about a fourth of the portion at one time at a high temp in about 1/4 cup of oil. You can add more oil if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was a very tastey dish. I did substitute the frozen juice concentrate with 1 fresh squeezed orange. Also added mushrooms and shave carrot in the dish. Will definatley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Crispy beef is one of my favorite dishes. Just make sure you cut the beef really thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Pheasey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is phenomenal. I was able to get my beef crispy. I do not think you can use stew meat if you want to achieve this. I had a round steak that I sliced thin and did as the recipe instructed. The beef was wonderfully crispy. I did not have frozen orange juice I just used regular orange juice. I did double the sauce recipe so I could put some on the broccoli. This was a hit and will become a regular meal at my house. No more wasting money on take out for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States