Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I thought the flavor of this recipe was very good. I like the tip of drying the beef in the fridge. I also tenderized the beef prior to slicing. However, I did not want to fry my beef, so I used my wok and stir-fried. The result did not come out crispy, but it was tasty and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I liked this a lot. I used fresh squeezes orange juice in place of the concentrate. My hubs wasn't crazy about it, saying he didn't like the texture of the beef. But really, what does he know? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I altered this recipe a little for my taste. I used half of the ginger and hot sauce. Added a little more honey, brown sugar and a pinch of white sugar. I took others advice and lightly floured the chicken before frying. I also put red, orange, yellow and green peppers in it. And fried up some shrimp in the sauce to add after it was all cooked. Turned out awesome. I will definitely make this again. It's a bit spicy but not overly and soo tasty. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this recipe as written, other than doubling the sauce, adding red pepper flakes to taste and chopped onion and using marmalade rather than so much sugar. It was very authentic-tasting -- perfect balance or sweetness, orange and garlic/ginger. For those who found the cornstarch gummy, I would suggest that you really shake off all the excess and brown extremely well. I used a wok, but with only about an inch of peanut oil in the bottom and browned the meat in small batches and drained well. I made this for a Chinese New Year's banquet with seven courses and cooked the meat several hours in advance, along with prepping the seasonings and chopping the onion. I left the meat out on the counter, not refrigerated, to keep the crispiness. I had some cornstarch in the bottom of the wok when I finished browning the meat, so I completely wiped out that oil and cornstarch. When I was ready to finish preparing the dish, I added peanut oil back into the wok, stir-fried the onion and aromatics, then tossed the beef back in -- even prior to adding the sauce. The meat stayed nice and crispy, just as it should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I used filet and did not fry it crispy, I served it over multi grain rice, it was delicious. A keeper for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent! Only thing to change is to double the sauce liquids and cook more rice. This recipe has sooo much flavor. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Pretty darn good, as written. I doubled the sauce, as suggested by another rating and so glad I did!! If anything, I'd add some heat behind it next time. It was delicious and will definitely make another appearance in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
The sauce is delicious. Tastes like a restaurant meal. I just added about 1/3 of the ginger called for. That was enough ginger for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Yummo. Next time as soon as the beef is ready to go on the plate I will squeeze the orange that I used for the zest over the dish. It didn't quite have the deep orange flavour that I was expecting. This was an enjoyable meal. I served with roasted broccoli recipe from this site and brown rice. Thanks BEC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States