Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome!! My husband said 'it looks just like Chinese" when I served it lol...I made a few changes. I doubled the sauce, used half the sugar, didn't have OJ concentrate, so I used regular (about 2/3 cup), I didn't double the vinegar, just used enough for a single serving of sauce, didn't have fresh ginger, so I used 2 teaspoons of ground ginger, and I completely forgot about the salt, and I don't feel it needed any. I will definitely make again. The sauce is excellent. I would like to try it with the OJ concentrate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Wow! This was fabulous! I doubled the sauce as many suggested...put half the sugar and it turned out amazingly! I put quite a bit more orange zest and grated fresh ginger. The only thing I found was the vinegar was a little too strong, next time I will put less. Also if anyone does not have the orange juice concentrate, I used fresh orange juice and it thickened up nicely. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was very good. I added extra orange ingredients to suit my tastes. I will put it on my remake list. Next time I will let it get a bit more crispy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Nope. It didn't work for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The best recipe, I have ever had or tried. Bar none the best Crispy Orange Beef around. Inexpensive to make also. 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
LOOOVVEEED this. My husabnd thought it was too tangy like others but I didnt think it was tangy at all. it tasted sweet. it WAS AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This turned out really great, not a single rice grain left. Also doubled the sauce and it was perfect, so will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGumanoid
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Easy to make and very tasty"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a delicious recipe, as many reviewers have documented. It's the third wok recipe I've ever tried making (not a highly skilled wok cook, but can now get by without screwing up or burning anything.) I came across this one by searching the web for anythingclose to this, because I was wanting to make something like it with some extra steak I'd bought on sale, but had never seen nor sampled such a dish. Fortunately I had the wok and almost all the ingredients save the corn starch and juice concentrate already. It may take you close to an hour and a half to make this the first time around, but the effort is worth it. Subsequent efforts should be easier. I suggest cutting it in half the first go to test. My sauce came out slightly too thick and darkened, but that was my fault not the recipe's. I had left slightly too much oil in the pan, thus while cooking down the sauce I had to reduce it longer to make up for this, but still wasn't burnt, and still tasty. My only real improvement to this dish is to add 2 tbsp ground fresh chili paste (Chinese wet condiment) to the sauce when you start cooking it. Adds just enough kick. Also reduce the ginger at least half and don't fret over the fresh stuff, when your spice rack will do. Finally, the OJ concentrate can be replaced with liquid OJ, as long as you increase the quantity at least 75% (recommend pulp free). I also add a touch more soy sauce/vinegar and bit less sugar. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Got two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 91-100 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States