Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was REALLY good. I used about 1 1/2 T. of fresh grated ginger. The amount listed, as others have noted, must be a typo. Everything else I followed exactly. It was exceptional. Everyone loved it. I cooked the beef in peanut oil as another review suggested. It was fairly crispy outside and tender inside. The sauce was perfect. I think this would make a great appetizer, too, served with toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very delicious, and pretty forgiving, ingredients-wise. My husband didn't think the beef needed the cornstarch. I'm wont to agree with him. Next time we'll just brown it in the pan, sans cornstarch. The sauce was great, but I wasn't able to use every ingredient exactly. We didn't have any rice vinegar so I just used white vinegar, which I didn't realize would be much stronger. So it gave the dish a stronger flavor. Not necessarily a bad thing, but next time I'd like to try it with rice vinegar (after I get to the store). I also had to use powdered ginger, so I cut the amount down to about 1 tsp or so. I didn't bother sautéing anything other than the meat; I just dumped all the sauce ingredients in, together. After letting it boil for a while, I added a little cornstarch/water slurry to help speed up the thickening (my kids and I were hungry). If it were just me, I might add some red pepper flake, too, like they sometimes do in the Chinese restaurants. I'd like to try the sauce over chicken. My husband was very impressed with how it turned out, which is really saying something, because he's my toughest critic when it comes to food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Too much ginger or citrus. The oil also needs to stay very hot throughout or the breading looks soggy. Maybe I should try it again, but it seemed like a lot of work for not a lot of flavor payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
There were no left overs among my very picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this the other nite and really liked it. The only thing we thought was a bit overpowering, was the orange zest. As another viewer stated, we did add red pepper flakes and only had oj, not frozen concentrate. We like it spicy! It's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We loved it. I wanted to use venison instead of beef, so I made two batches of the sauce, one to marinate the venison in and one to use as the recipe calls for. I did everything else exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe but my daughter thought it was too sweet will cut back on sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe-unique, with delicious flavors. Here are the mistakes I made that others made too. This sauce is intended to cook, flavor and crisp the meat. It's not a typical stir fry where you can just add veg for a stir fry. If you 'double the sauce' to turn it into a meat and veg. stir fry it won't work. The meat won't crisp. You will note that in the list of ingredients, the Broccoli florets are cooked separately. Don't add veg to the stir fry! Also, to help the corn starch stick, let it rest on a wire rack till the starch is 'wetted', kind of moistened and sticking to the meat before you fry. Another technique is to mix the corn starch and water (about 1/4 cup each) with a beaten egg white and dip it, then fry. You really want crispy, not gummy! If you want a veg side to go with it take a half cup of Kikkomann Marinate and Sauce, add a smashed garlic clove and let it sit on the counter. Add some diced Ginger if it makes you happy. No sugar though, you want a contrast to the sweet meat. Stir fry your veg separately and add the sauce near the end. I prefer the steamed and blanched veg for a contrast to the delicious Crispy Beef. Remember, classicaly in Asian lunch or dinner is Rice with something... not something with rice. The meat and veg is meant to be a flavor enhancer to go with your rice and to add interest; not covered in sauce or gravy. If we cut portions by a third and quit putting gravy on everything we'd all lose weight! I sure need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinematicdream

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My goodness I was not quite sure how this would go because I could not find the right cut of meat, I used a round cut in cubes it was so good I could not stop raving about it my kids love it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States