Crispy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe was excellent! A key is to make certain to cook the beef until it is truly crispy and dark in color; do not remove from heat when just cooked through. I had to use powdered ginger and regular orange juice (this is what I had on hand), and it was still delicious. It was a huge hit in our house and will find a spot in our regular meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
It was way too sweet and the sauce is gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made exactly as directed although cut the recipe in 1/2 as we were only 2 people...Absolutely delicious and much crispier than Chinese beef With broccoli you usually get with take out Chinese food in New Haven. Used jasmine rice, but plain rice would be perfectly ok too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was excellent as written! Only change I made was doubling the sauce and letting the beef rest for 10 minutes in the cornstarch. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half too. Beef was crispy and delicious. Oh and my husband and I added chili pepper sauce to ours. I like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We all loved this recipe. My husband and son said, "A+".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Johnny Scotch
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The zest made it for me. Made it with Kagoshima beef! (I live in Japan). Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We all loved it. Followed what everyone else said and didn't put too much sugar in it..my husband really enjoyed and wants me to make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Too sweet, not enough other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made the recipe with Trader Joes beefless strips because I am vegetarian. I don't think it adds up to 1.5 lbs so I had plenty of sauce. I would reduce the sugar by maybe 25% next time. I also used oj from an actual orange instead of the frozen oj and put in about a 1/2 tbs more of garlic and i didn't have a lot of ginger so maybe I only put in 1.5 tbs of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was REALLY good. I used about 1 1/2 T. of fresh grated ginger. The amount listed, as others have noted, must be a typo. Everything else I followed exactly. It was exceptional. Everyone loved it. I cooked the beef in peanut oil as another review suggested. It was fairly crispy outside and tender inside. The sauce was perfect. I think this would make a great appetizer, too, served with toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States