Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I think this would be a great recipe for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great use for leftover mashed potatoes. My husband ate these and he does not care for mashed potatoes. He said "you can make these again" so, it is a keeper for us. I followed the ingredients and instructions with no changes made. Thanks for the new side dish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Oh so yummy. I ate them with sunnyside up eggs. What a nice change from hashbrowns. I will be making these often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great post-Thanksgiving way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I followed the advice of gapch1026 and added scallions and flour as well as chopped garlic. Came out great and was easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
perfect!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really good with a few changes. I used a ratio of 1 cup leftover mashed potatoes: 1 egg and used fresh chives from my garden since they were ready to be snipped. Added the garlic but skipped the Italian seasoning. I stirred in 1 heaping Tblsp flour to add texture. The pancakes kept their shape well and were easy to flip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this recipe and instead of italian seasoning added dill, horseradish and parmesan. It was much easier to form the patties by hand, I found that the spatula made a big mess of them. I had to cook them about 8-10 minutes each side before flipping. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I too adapted the recipe with 2 eggs, 1/2 cup flour and shredded parmesan. I let it rest in the fridge for some time it was still very sticky so I rolled the scoops of potato in the parmesan, then patted them down before placing them in the oil. I ran out of cheese before I ran out of potato, so for the rest I scooped the potato with a cookie dough scoop and plooped them straight into the oil. As they cooked a bit, I lightly pressed pressed them into a thicker patty....The family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYMAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
really liked this recipe- very much like the kind my mother used to make- my mix was a very thin so I added about 1 T flour to dry out. Had to 2 hand flip so they wouldn't break, but once flipped, they held up nicely.Great crispy, crunchy outside to them. My father and I just ate 1/2 the batch, and kids will be home from school to finish the rest. Thank you so much for the recipe, I have been trying different one's and this was the best by far. ( first kid's response was to finish up the rest of that batch) Off to the kitchen to make more for the other children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe! As others, I added my own variation of ingredients - bacon bits, shredded cheddar cheese, diced onions and a tablespoon of flour to help hold them together. Definitely the "trick" is to cook them covered on medium heat for 8 minutes on each side. At first I thought this was too long and tried to flip the first batch after four minutes. Big mistake as they fell apart. When I did the second batch as the recipe directed at 8 minutes - they were perfect. I'll definitely be making these using my leftover mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States