Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is a great way to use up those leftover mashed potatoes. It is a great basic recipe because you can add your favorite ingredients to suit your own tastes. I added some chopped onions, salt and pepper; and 1 Tbsp flour as suggested by another reviewer. I left out the Italian seasoning and garlic powder. I have also added some cheddar cheese to them and they are very good. I will be making these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These were okay but needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WinstonSalem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I folowed another reviewers advice and used 1 C mashed potatoes to 1 egg and added 1 heaping T flour. I added garlic powder, shredded cheddar cheese and grated onion. I found med high heat to hot...pancakes were burning.......med to low worked better. Also had a hard time flattening with the spatula...just made a mess. Dropping in a clump and spreading it out with a fork worked better. Hubby liked them...I thought they were ok. next time I will season them a bit more. This is however, a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes, so I will keep this recipe. anything my picky hubby likes is a keeper...haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This reminds me of an old New Orleans Friday meal, usually referred to as "codfish cakes". Before Vatican II (early '60s), Catholics were required to fast from meat on Fridays. We still follow this abstention on Lenten Fridays. I never really understood why it was considered a sacrifice to eat seafood instead of meat, especially in New Orleans, but, go figure. I also never understood why these were called codfish cakes, as codfish is one of the only fish other than salmon not native to our area. Like jambalya, these were usually made with leftovers. Usually they were made by combining sauteed onion, garlic and bell pepper with leftover (or canned) seafood, sliced scallions, and mashed potatoes, cayenne, and other spices with egg as a binder. They were then formed into patties and sauteed in butter (cakes) or formed into balls, dredged in flour, egg wash and bread crumbs, and deep fried (codfish balls). Not the fanciest dish in the world but much better than frozen fish sticks or other convenience foods. Please forgive me for the average rating. I don't think it's fair to hold the rest of the country to the taste standards of New Orleans. Even the codfish version above would be considered standard convenience fare. I hope this didn't sound snobby,we're just very picky and competitive re our cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I grew up eating these..we called them potato cakes..so so good. We did not use the seasoning but used 2 TBSP flour to hold them together. Also you can add some finely chopped onion or shredded cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very Good. Great way to get rid of leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Delicious. The flavor was great I had made garlic potatoes and had some left over and used them which was amazing. Tip though, rub some cooking oil on the back of an egg spatula to flatten; any other spatula or an unoiled spatula and you're going to have a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Combs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
works best on low to med. heat, like 4-5, and i used a ice cream scooper, spooned them out off of the heat, and when turned, it flatened out. and added more parsly, and flour, and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
THIS IS A GREAT EASY RECIPE. IT TOOK NO TIME TO MIX AND FRY. MY KIDS LOVED THEM AND SO DID MY HUSBAND AND I. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE. SPIKESMOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Really yummy! I added some finely chopped onion and shredded cheddar cheese. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States