Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great way to use up left over mashed potatoes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I "loaded up" the leftovers...so good!! Now to keep enough leftover mashed potatoes everytime to make these again...easier said than done in my house! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I have never made potato pancakes before.. what a yummy way to use leftover mashed potatoes! I can't wait for more leftovers, I have a ton of ingredient ideas! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good use of leftover mashed potatoes. I fried mine in bacon fat in a cast iron skillet. Also I rolled them into balls then dipped in bisquick before putting them into the pan and flattening them. Cooking them on medium high for 7 minutes burnt them on my electric stove though. Medium heat worked for me. I think I like potato pancakes with shredded potatoes more, but it's nice to have a use for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I love these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were delicious! I used 2 cups cold mashed potatoes and 2 eggs, plus 2 TBS flour per previous reviews. Italian seasoning didn't seem to fit with fried mashed potatoes? So I added finely minced garlic and green onion, crumbled cooked bacon, a handful of shredded cheese, salt, pepper and cayenne. My pancakes were essentially fully-loaded baked potatoes fried in a pan. Not something we will eat very often! I cooked mine in the leftover bacon grease. I turned the stove up to medium high to get the oil nice and hot and dropped them in by the spoonful and using the greased spatula I quickly shaped them in the pan and pressed down lightly to flatten to 1/2 - 3/4 inch thick. Then, turn the heat down to medium and leave them alone for eight minute. Gently flip and cook eight more minutes. I had no trouble keeping them together once they formed a nice crust. My husband inhaled them, the only problem is I didn't have more mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious! I added some Italian breadcrumbs to mine and I loved them...so easy and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this tonight with some very minor tweaks and they were delicious. I wouldn't do 8 minutes however. It was only about 3-4 minutes per side for me at low-medium heat in a cast iron skillet with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Didnt stay together very well but tasted delish. Added jalapenos, shredded ched, bacon and red onion for a chunky potato cake : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made potato cakes before and had them be way too soft. A lot has to do with the condition of your mashed potatoes when you begin. If your potatoes are on the wetter side, then as others have suggested here, its a good idea to add some Italian seasoned bread crumbs. I used 2 cups of mashed - I had made sour cream and chive mashed potatoes. They had sat in the fridge overnight so they were not super moist, but moister than I wanted if I were to add the egg for binding. I added 1/4 cup bread crumbs along with some of the garlic powder and skipped the Italian seasoning since it was in the crumbs. Next time I might add some extra though as it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. I made these into potato bites/small plate/appy sized. I used a small cookie scoop and dropped the ball onto a plate coated with Italian bread crumbs. I coated the ball with crumbs and flattened the cake out some. Served with a small dollop of sour cream, some crispy bacon and fresh chopped chives. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States