Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really good with a few changes. I used a ratio of 1 cup leftover mashed potatoes: 1 egg and used fresh chives from my garden since they were ready to be snipped. Added the garlic but skipped the Italian seasoning. I stirred in 1 heaping Tblsp flour to add texture. The pancakes kept their shape well and were easy to flip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made seventy of these last night for an upcoming party. I started from scratch, so I needed to add flour to the mix in order to hold them together better. I also added, minced bell pepper, grated onion and lots of parm cheese. I made them relatively small and plump and rolled them in a mixture of flour and parm before frying. They were easy to flip and the flour/cheese mixture gave them a beautiful crispy crust. Thanks Schuster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this with left over mashed potatoes. Needed to add more milk as they had dried out. Also added more spices than just a teaspoon. I also used a lot more oil than suggested. I found that if you wait the full 8 minutes and then flip them you can have them crispy on both sides.Flipping before the full 8 minutes made them fall apart. Also I formed the patty in my hand as I could get them thinner than flattening them in the pan.Using the spatula to flatten them only made them fall apart. Trick is to let them cook till the bottom is really crispy then flip them. Very yummy when eaten with sour cream.Thank you Mary for helping me find a way to use up the left over Mashed Potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yum. These turned out well. I added about 1/4 cup of seasoned bread crumbs instead of the seasonings listed and they were delish. A great use of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My mother used to make these in the fifties and I have been trying for years to find out how to make them! I did find them a little mushy to work with and will try adding some bisquick next time. I used a good teflon skillet and not too much oil and let them cook at least eight minutes before turning them. They were just the way I remembered them as a kid! Thanks for helping me relive my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Growing up, I remember my friends' moms making these. My mom never did and I was always curious about them. At Hubs' request, we were about to eat leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes for supper tonight for the umpteenth time and I absolutely refused...so he got these as a surprise with his breakfast this morning! I remember my friends' moms adding egg, but I also remember them adding a little flour and finely chopped onion, so that's what I did. (Let me tell you, these memories go back a LOT of years, so that tells you these mashed potato patties have been around a looooong time) I have to admit the idea of Italian seasoning in these wasn't moving me, so I added some Penzey's Buttermilk Ranch Seasoning instead (I'll bet Hidden Valley Buttermilk Ranch Seasoning would be excellent too) These are mashed potatoes after all, and as such are obviously mushy, so I made certain not to turn the patties too soon. Hubs had never heard of these before but loved 'em. I thought they were pretty darned good too, 'tho I found they require a lot of seasoning. They were indeed crispy on the outside, and mashed potato-y on the inside. It was an excellent way to make use of the last of the Thanksgiving mashed potates and were a perfect complement to our scrambled egg Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Pretty good recipe! I actually added some baking mix to thicken it up a little though and also added onion powder and basil instead of Italian seasoning and family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought these were pretty good. Its nice to do something with leftover mashed potatos...they usually get thrown out at my house. But I would change a few things next time 1) I would make the potato cakes really thin, I made them too thick and they didnt get as crisp as I wanted, and 2) maybe I would add some green onion for flavor and color. Other than that they were pretty good =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Prepared recipe as is and it was fine but nothing special. I supposed if I doctored it up as previous posters have I might have liked it better but then I would not really be rating THIS particular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
these turned out nice with the addition of 1 tablespoon of flour. made them with garlic mashed potatoes. be sure to cook them for eight minutes each side so they don't fall apart. for fun, I added shredded cabbage (from bagged coleslaw mix) and some minced green onion to the second batch, they turned out very yummy. my english husband said, 'you just made bubble-and-squeak'! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States