Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
It was an easy and good recipe. I replaced Dill for the Italian seasoning and it was really tasty. It didn't get as crispy as I was expecting and burnt a bit....maybe use a bit more oil for a shorter period of time at a higher temp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this with left over mashed potatoes. Needed to add more milk as they had dried out. Also added more spices than just a teaspoon. I also used a lot more oil than suggested. I found that if you wait the full 8 minutes and then flip them you can have them crispy on both sides.Flipping before the full 8 minutes made them fall apart. Also I formed the patty in my hand as I could get them thinner than flattening them in the pan.Using the spatula to flatten them only made them fall apart. Trick is to let them cook till the bottom is really crispy then flip them. Very yummy when eaten with sour cream.Thank you Mary for helping me find a way to use up the left over Mashed Potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made seventy of these last night for an upcoming party. I started from scratch, so I needed to add flour to the mix in order to hold them together better. I also added, minced bell pepper, grated onion and lots of parm cheese. I made them relatively small and plump and rolled them in a mixture of flour and parm before frying. They were easy to flip and the flour/cheese mixture gave them a beautiful crispy crust. Thanks Schuster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
these were good. Easy to make too according to Husband who made them! I enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Pretty good recipe! I actually added some baking mix to thicken it up a little though and also added onion powder and basil instead of Italian seasoning and family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Prepared recipe as is and it was fine but nothing special. I supposed if I doctored it up as previous posters have I might have liked it better but then I would not really be rating THIS particular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I think this would be a great recipe for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
so far so good. Didn't have any eggs left, so i added a little extra cream to make the mashed potatos more sticky. Added bread crumbs and a garlic herb blend and formed flattened balls of potato, then dipped in bread crumbs and fried. SO far they smell really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckaMax

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe has a really good flavor. However it did not turn into a pancake at all. It was more like mashed potatos with a few crispys in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My mother used to make these in the fifties and I have been trying for years to find out how to make them! I did find them a little mushy to work with and will try adding some bisquick next time. I used a good teflon skillet and not too much oil and let them cook at least eight minutes before turning them. They were just the way I remembered them as a kid! Thanks for helping me relive my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States