Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were pretty good. Great way to make use of leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I modified quite a bit. I always use sour cream, butter, and cream cheese in my mashed potatos (I had to make from scratch since I didn't have any leftovers) I did not add the italian seasoning just salt and pepper and some cayenne pepper. I did add some flour. I scooped them out of the bowl with a cookie scoop and dipped my spatula in the oil to flatten out. Flipped mine without having any issues with them breaking apart and I did not wait 8 mins. I served with a sour cream and chive dip. Very yummy stuff and the kids loved them ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I gave this only 3 stars because I modified this recipe so much, however the final result was VERY tasty, I added about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, some fresh chives instead of the oregeno and I added a few tbsp. flour which it definitely needed to hold it together. And as another reviewer stated do not flip until a full 8 minutes have passed for browning the first side otherwise they will break apart. My husband and son both loved these! A great way to use up leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
add spice to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great use for leftover mashed potatoes. My husband ate these and he does not care for mashed potatoes. He said "you can make these again" so, it is a keeper for us. I followed the ingredients and instructions with no changes made. Thanks for the new side dish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
As written, these did not work for me. The potato mixture was way too thin and did not stay together. The taste was OK but I think they were pretty bland. I did try to add some flour and some cheddar cheese but we still weren't crazy about them. My mom use to make potato cakes that I loved but these did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
really liked this recipe- very much like the kind my mother used to make- my mix was a very thin so I added about 1 T flour to dry out. Had to 2 hand flip so they wouldn't break, but once flipped, they held up nicely.Great crispy, crunchy outside to them. My father and I just ate 1/2 the batch, and kids will be home from school to finish the rest. Thank you so much for the recipe, I have been trying different one's and this was the best by far. ( first kid's response was to finish up the rest of that batch) Off to the kitchen to make more for the other children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was really good. I did add a little bit of flour to the recipe so the potatoes were easier to form into patties. I would next time add a small amout of onion for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this for my children for chanukah. They told me right before dinner time they really wanted latkes/potato pancakes - and I was not ready to bring out my food processor and start grating potatoes. I happened to see this recipe last week and kept it in mind. I would describe this as "the lazy latka recipe." It worked out pretty well for me! I modifies the recipe a bit though... I did not have left over mashed potatoes - I used 2 cups of instant potato flakes, 2-3 tbsp of flour (as other reviewers had suggested), 2 extra large eggs and a bit of salt, pepper and garlic powder. I made the potatoes to be a bit thicker than pancake batter consistency. The end result was a nice fluffy latka/potato pancake (light colored too! The potato flakes don't oxidize like real grated potatoes!)A good substitute if you don't want a big mess and appliance pieces to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think I will play with the recipe next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States