Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were pretty good. Great way to make use of leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I modified quite a bit. I always use sour cream, butter, and cream cheese in my mashed potatos (I had to make from scratch since I didn't have any leftovers) I did not add the italian seasoning just salt and pepper and some cayenne pepper. I did add some flour. I scooped them out of the bowl with a cookie scoop and dipped my spatula in the oil to flatten out. Flipped mine without having any issues with them breaking apart and I did not wait 8 mins. I served with a sour cream and chive dip. Very yummy stuff and the kids loved them ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I gave this only 3 stars because I modified this recipe so much, however the final result was VERY tasty, I added about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, some fresh chives instead of the oregeno and I added a few tbsp. flour which it definitely needed to hold it together. And as another reviewer stated do not flip until a full 8 minutes have passed for browning the first side otherwise they will break apart. My husband and son both loved these! A great way to use up leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
add spice to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great use for leftover mashed potatoes. My husband ate these and he does not care for mashed potatoes. He said "you can make these again" so, it is a keeper for us. I followed the ingredients and instructions with no changes made. Thanks for the new side dish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
As written, these did not work for me. The potato mixture was way too thin and did not stay together. The taste was OK but I think they were pretty bland. I did try to add some flour and some cheddar cheese but we still weren't crazy about them. My mom use to make potato cakes that I loved but these did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
really liked this recipe- very much like the kind my mother used to make- my mix was a very thin so I added about 1 T flour to dry out. Had to 2 hand flip so they wouldn't break, but once flipped, they held up nicely.Great crispy, crunchy outside to them. My father and I just ate 1/2 the batch, and kids will be home from school to finish the rest. Thank you so much for the recipe, I have been trying different one's and this was the best by far. ( first kid's response was to finish up the rest of that batch) Off to the kitchen to make more for the other children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was really good. I did add a little bit of flour to the recipe so the potatoes were easier to form into patties. I would next time add a small amout of onion for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this for my children for chanukah. They told me right before dinner time they really wanted latkes/potato pancakes - and I was not ready to bring out my food processor and start grating potatoes. I happened to see this recipe last week and kept it in mind. I would describe this as "the lazy latka recipe." It worked out pretty well for me! I modifies the recipe a bit though... I did not have left over mashed potatoes - I used 2 cups of instant potato flakes, 2-3 tbsp of flour (as other reviewers had suggested), 2 extra large eggs and a bit of salt, pepper and garlic powder. I made the potatoes to be a bit thicker than pancake batter consistency. The end result was a nice fluffy latka/potato pancake (light colored too! The potato flakes don't oxidize like real grated potatoes!)A good substitute if you don't want a big mess and appliance pieces to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think I will play with the recipe next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States