Crispy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Love this recipe. Followed the advice of others and rolled in sugar and pumpkin pie spice then pressed with a glass. They are light and crispy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 01buckler15
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Just made these today. They are wonderful! I will certainly be making them again. The true test is when my husband gets home tomorrow to try them. They are not spicy at all though. I think I'll be adding something to them next time. I think I'll go a little less on the salt too. Just a personal preference though. For all those that are saying they aren't crispy enough. Let them sit for a day or two. They get crispier. The inside chewiness dries up and crisps up quite well. I tried baking for 10 minutes and for 12 minutes. It didn't make a difference, after a few days of sitting they all are the same. Adding… my husband liked them, but also agreed they weren't like the store bought ones. I'm trying another batch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 01buckler15

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Substituted butter for the shortening. Doubled the ginger. Didn't dip in sugar. Rolled into balls, then smashed them down flat on a cookie sheet lined with Silpat and baked at 350 in top third of oven for 10 minutes. Crispy on the outside and a hint of chewy on the inside. Perfection! Time to buy a stand-mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just fixed these yesterday. Followed the recipe but added a touch of cayenne for added snap. Excellent recipe. My husband does not usually like gingersnaps but he loved these and wants me to make them again! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have never cared for gingersnap cookies, but I made these for my mother-in-law's mother. Maybe I'd never had a good gingersnap before because I liked these a lot. They do not taste overly gingery, but I also used a store brand ginger so that could be it. Very easy to make. I think I got well more than 7 dozen from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Delicious, I have made this twice in the past week, the first time I shaped into balls and flattened with a sugar dusted cup bottom, and the second I rolled into gingerbread boys and girls we then decorated, this cookie is fabulous both ways; oh and I doubled the ginger the second time, extra spicy, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Perfect recipe for the crispy gingersnaps. And way better than the ones you buy in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Make them small for thinner, crispier cookies, bigger for chewy ones. I also suggest adding a half teaspoon of cloves and an additional teaspoon of ginger. And lard or butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Sooooo yummy! I could not resist eating two! I just made these this afternoon and they taste great right out of the oven! Instead of shortening, I used softened butter and I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves. I also did not roll the cookies in sugar. Instead of shaping into balls, I rolled all the dough out onto a floured surface to about an 1/8 inch thickness and cut the cookies with a 1 1/2 inch biscuit cutter. I baked them at 350 for about 10 minutes each. It made about 6 dozen cookies. Please note that you do NOT have to refrigerate the dough before making them this way. I absolutely loves spiced baked goods and these are the best! The amount of salt is perfect, the contrast (salty-sweet) is great! I will most certainly be making these again! Taste just like store-bought gingersnaps without the preservatives and other fake ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Earl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States