Crispy Garlic-Parmesan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was made tonight with one package of Costco's chicken and half the other ingredients. I had some Progresso Lemon Pepper Panko crumbs from a while back, and since they are VERY salty, I mixed them with Progresso's regular Italian bread crumbs and no parmesan. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated. To my pasta I added a whole bunch of the Starter and a lot of parmesan. This is a very easy very tasty meal. The recipe didn't really use very much of the can of the Starter, so I'll have to see how it freezes for another meal another time. Thanks, Progresso, for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Mmmm! This was a winner in my house. Everyone loved it - me, my hubby, my 18 month old and my picky 7 year old!! That almost never happens! I followed the recipe as written and the chicken came out crispy on the outside, moist on the inside and very flavorful...and super easy too. It was a nice change from my normal bread crumb/egg batter for chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
My family really raved about this dish. It was juicy, tasty and not at all difficult to make. The only reason I'm giving it four stars is I was disappointed it did not get crispy brown like in the picture. I cooked it for 8 minutes on one side, then flipped it for 10 on the other. I think for our oven, 400 may not have been hot enough. Will have to experiment with this in the future. The starter sauce really added alot of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I used butter buds instead of butter to dredge the chicken but otherwise followed the recipe. The sauce is quite tasty. I did find the chicken to be very anemic looking after the stated baking time so I broiled it for a few minutes to get it browned.. since we eat with our eyes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Quick and easy to make and was a nice change from the usual Saturday night fare. I omitted the parmesan from the breading, but opted to sprinkle some ontop after chicken finished baking. Added peas/carrots to the remaining sauce to heat through before adding to pasta (egg noodles). I left out any additional salt the recipe asked for, kept the pepper about the same and just added a light dash of salt at the end before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is so easy to make, great for those busy days. I sliced the chicken into medallions, pounding them about ¼ inch thick, slightly less cooking time, which is why they may not have browned as much as I would have liked. I served this over strozzapreti for an enjoyable, tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
We Really, REALLY wanted to like this, but the sauce itself was really bland. Before coating the chicken I added the garlic powder and tasted the coating--then added black pepper, onion powder, paprika AND parsley. Then coated and baked as normal. I realized after I had coated with the panko that I had forgotten the melted butter mixed in with the Progresso mixture. My chicken didn't crisp up, so I had to put it under the broiler to prevent a soggy mess. The remaining soup for the sauce was WAY too bland to be used as sauce for pasta, so I sauteed some onion and garlic cloves and once that soup was warm used my hand blender to mix it all together. The taste was still off--very much tasted like something from a box or a can, even after increasing spices. It didn't do anything for the family--there was no 'wow' factor...the kids and hubby told me they honestly prefer oven 'fried' chicken fingers over this. I'm willing to agree--so much less work involved in those. I'm 90% certain we won't be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My first Progresso Recipe Starters cooking sauce recipe … Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken. The Chicken was delicious. Pasta??? Not so much. I made the recipe exactly as written. As far as speed and ease goes dinner was on the table within 35 minutes and I plan to add this to my Fast Night Meals Pinterest board. If I were to use this canned sauce on pasta again I would add some fresh herbs and more seasoning. I felt it didn’t have a fresh taste and almost crossed the line to a “Canned” taste. Chicken 5 stars… Pasta, 2 ½ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This wasn't for us. I tried to doctor up the sauce to our liking, but we still didn't care for it. I cooked the chicken as specified and it did not crisp up on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My family enjoyed the chicken. I had to kick the oven temp up to 450 and then just ended up broiling at the end to crisp it up. The sauce I did not care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States