Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
For those that had a problem with the batter falling off be sure to pat the fish dry with paper towel first and your oil is hot enough. If you are using a basket with your fryer do not place fish in the bottom of the basket, leave the basket on the bottom and just drop the fish into the hot oil. Doing this will keep the batter from coming off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Great tasting recipe. After reading other reviews about the batter/crumbs not sticking, I decided to leave the mixture on the fish for 1/2 an hour before frying. It's a trick I use for frying chicken. It worked great for the fish too. I also added more salt to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Very good recipe, and very easy. The batter - fish - corn crumbs proportion should be changed, though. I used the same amount of batter for 2 lbs of fish, and still have some left (had to throw away). Next time I'll plan to cook at least 3 lbs of fish with this batter. The corn crumbs have to be used not all at once, but in small portions: take as many pieces of fish as you can cook at once in a deep-frier/skillet, dip in batter and then portion of corn crumbs, and cook; throw away the crumbs as they will be soggy and will no longer stick; replace with another portion of crumbs for the next fish portion, and so on. You will probably need more corn flakes then in the original recipe, but the crumbs guarantee to stick. Also don't be shy to increase seasoning to taste - for example, more pepper, more garlic and perhaps some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This was terrific! I was desperately looking for a batter to deep fry shrimp and used this one. After pulling the shrimp from my Deep Fryer and letting them cool for about 10 minutes - absolutely fantasic! Thanks Eldon! I am going to post this to the shrimp category and give you credit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
super fast and tasty! i substituted bread crumbs for the cornflakes and it still tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
Our family has been trying to get away from fired and fatty foods, but this recipe sounded too good to pass up. Guess what? It was mahhhhh-velous! I enjoy a good beer batter on almost anything, but the addition of cajun spices here made for a little "kick" that was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Fantastic fried fish! The best better I've made. In a hugely surprising turn of events, this recipes works with haddock. I would have given it six stars, but the recipe doesn't come with tartar sauce. Imagine my dismay when I went to make some, and discovered that I had no sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
After a day of fishing, we decided to use this recipe to cook up our new filets. VERY GOOD RECIPE! I did half the batch using the cornflakes and half the batch using instant potato flakes. The family was tied between which batch was better; cornflakes or potato flakes but the consensus agrees that this recipe is one to make again! Thanks Eldon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was okay. I didn't have cod so I used basa. I thought it was a little bland. I didn't have any problems with the cornflakes staying on fish. If I make this again I will make a thicker batter and and more cajun seasoning. Also there is enough batter to make more fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
This is a great fish recipe - the cornflake coating is a welcome change from traditional fish batters. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States