Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
super fast and tasty! i substituted bread crumbs for the cornflakes and it still tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was okay. I didn't have cod so I used basa. I thought it was a little bland. I didn't have any problems with the cornflakes staying on fish. If I make this again I will make a thicker batter and and more cajun seasoning. Also there is enough batter to make more fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
For those that had a problem with the batter falling off be sure to pat the fish dry with paper towel first and your oil is hot enough. If you are using a basket with your fryer do not place fish in the bottom of the basket, leave the basket on the bottom and just drop the fish into the hot oil. Doing this will keep the batter from coming off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I didn't have corn flakes, so used fine cracker crumbs and left out the Cajun seasoning. I soaked the fish in the batter while the oil was heating. This turned out so great for a coating, that we did some shrimp also! Fantastic! Lots of leftover batter, it's true. However, I'll use this recipe on all my fried seafood. I'll never use a cornmeal coating again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Great tasting recipe. After reading other reviews about the batter/crumbs not sticking, I decided to leave the mixture on the fish for 1/2 an hour before frying. It's a trick I use for frying chicken. It worked great for the fish too. I also added more salt to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe was not well thought out, but with a few alterations, turned out yummy! First problem, there is enough batter for at LEAST 2lbs of fish meat. Second, the cornflakes aren't sticking problem. Well, what I did was I had the cornflake mixture in one bowl, batter in another, then I had a third empty bowl. I would dip the fillet in the batter on both sides, let it drip off, then hold the fillet in my hand, then sprinkle the corn flake mixture over the batter-covered fillet on both sides. Your hands get a little messy, but you save a lot of crunchy coating this way, and the fillets turned out perfect! Soo yummy. Also, one last thing I did that helped is that I put spices in BOTH the batter and in the breading. Although, I think the breading, too, needs a teaspoon or two at least of salt, it was a little bland. Or you can use whatever seasoning you want, as long as it's got that salty spice to it. Over all, I will definitely cook this recipe again, I really liked the extra crunchy coating. Make sure to get the corn flakes extra crummy or they won't stick as well! Good Job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened, but this was a total disaster. The breading all fell off while cooking in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My family enjoyed the flavor and crispiness of this recipe. No doubt that it's an excellent taste. But I rated only 4 stars because it's a pain in the butt to make. I'm glad I followed the advice of a previous review that mentioned the corn flakes get gooey, so use a separate dish to coat the fillet. I had such a gummy mess on my hands each time. I will probably try other recipes before I go through this process again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was awesome! I didn't have corn flakes or bread crumbs, so I used 1 cup of crushed ritz crackers and 1 cup of instant potatoe flakes...Also, was not paying attention and dumped all of the spices in the crumb mixture (I also added a little dry mustard as well.) Wow!!!The breading had such a nice flavor, and I will swear by this recipe forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My family enjoyed this recipe, very crispy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States