Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We spent all afternoon fishing just so that we could make this recipe again. DELICIOUS!! I wouldn't change a thing. We didn't have a problem with the batter sticking because I completely dry off the fish before I bread them. Will definitely make again...and again...and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
If I could have I would have rated this a no-star. This was the biggest mess I've ever seen. I couldn't get the corn flakes to stick to the fish no matter what I did. Any that did stick by chance came right off when it hit the hot oil. I'm sorry but I won't be making this again ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I found NOTHING wrong with this recipe. Yes, it did make a lot of batter but I didn't mind. I did use 1.5# of fish because there are 5 of us in the family. It was so easy! My 8yo son helped me make dinner last night and I really didn't have to help HIM too much. He did most of the work - it's that easy. Try it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was wonderful. Very crispy. I try not to fry very often, but I will use this method for most any food I fry from now on. I did add a little more seasoning though. I have used corn flakes before and was never very impressed. I believe the flour in the batter helped the coating to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is some of the best fried fish I have ever prepared. Although egg and beer are used in the batter, this is not the poofy/greasy batter that is associated with "beer batter" fish. I used tilapia and Andy's fish breading, just because that's what I had and it turned out great. Still added the seasonings as listed here, minus salt. I think the keys to the success of this dish are the Cajun seasonings and the way it is prepared. Once you get everything set up, the process goes pretty quickly. My husband has proclaimed that this is the way we shall fry all fish from now on! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloverdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made a half recipe of the batter using the ingredients as written. I used peanut oil to fry the fish because of it's high smoke point. After battering and rolling the fish filets in the seasoned corn flakes, I lightly patted the corn flakes on the fish and let the filets rest on a wire rack for 5-10 minutes. This helps the coating stick to the fish. The end result was a very crunchy and tasty filet of fish that never lost any of it's coating. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I did a test trial of this recipe and only cooked one piece of fish. I would not make it again. The batter looked like mud. The fish was mushy tasting. The breading soaks up the grease like a sponge. Advice: Make up the batter and only fry one piece to see if you can tolerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
It was good but-- I'd lighten up on the cornflakes. When I buy fish, I want to TASTE fish; not a mouthful of crunchy batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was absolutely amazing!! We have been looking for a good recipe for frying fresh walleye and this is it! The first time we made this we did have some problems with the cornflakes sticking but the second time making it, I crushed the cornflakes more finely by putting about 4 C. Cornflakes into a gallon size baggie and going over it with a rolling pin. We had no problems with the crumbs sticking. The first time making this we used a light beer and the 2nd time we used a higher quality beer and it did make a difference. The batter was thicker which helped the Cornflake crumbs stick better. Also, make sure the fish is patted dry before dipping it in the batter. This was by far the best fried fish we have ever had!! Thanks Eldon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Was delish. Very Crispy. I used Ritz crackers instead of corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States