Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was a disaster! The coating wouldn't stick to the fish so none of the seasoning stuck to it and it failed to cook properly. I had to add quite a bit of seasoning to give it any taste. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very easy! Instead of cornflakes, I used some old onion flavored potato chips. And I opted not to use cajun seasoning. I also had the problem where the batter didn't seem to be sticking to the fish, so we just dipped it in the batter again after putting crumbs on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Nazareno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Didn't have corn flakes so I used crushed ritz crackers and fried in a frying pan with about 1/4 inch of oil. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Replace the corn flakes with Panko and I assure you that you will never have a better crispy fish coating in your life. I also use this recipe for deep frying pickles and anything else I can get my hands on to fry with this batter. This is such a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Great recipe, used Salmon instead of cod and didn't have cajun seasoning so I used Montreal Chicken Spice. Had no problem with batter but followed a lot of others advice. Patted fish dry, then put in batter, then in cornflake mixture. Made a new batch of cornflake mixture for each piece so it was always crispy. Put in fridge for about 15 min before deep frying. Very very crispy and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Good but the cornflakes didnt want to stick. I'll try some of the suggestions maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Love it. I used haddock for the fish, I dried it on paper towel and tossed it in flour first. This helped keep the batter on the fish. I also used this recipe on onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malani Whitsitt
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I tweeked the recipe a little, but it was awesome, even as tacos the next day that were a hit with the hubby's coworkers :) I subbed the cod for whiting, added cayenne to the wet batter, and lemon pepper to the dry batter, and subbed 1 1/2 C. plain panco bread crumbs & 1/2 C. white stone ground corn flour for the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malani Whitsitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is an excellent fish recipe. However If you like a more flavorful fish I would definitely double the garlic powder, salt and cajun seasoning and finish the off the cooked fish with a sprinkle of sea salt. Will be making again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Hands down the BEST homemade fried fish I have tried. My husband and I had to make a few key substitutions, since we were using what we had on hand. Unfortunately, we did NOT have beer, so we had to sub milk (can't wait to try again with beer though), and we used italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of crushed cornflakes. My husband also added some blackened Old Bay seasoning, which I think is the reason for the ka-POW! flavor. Additionally, we mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately, then dipped the fish in each, sprayed with butter spray, and dipped in the dry mixture again. You have to get the oil pretty hot and cook it just a little longer than you think to get a good crisp. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States