Crispy Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is delicious!!!! We made this last night and loved it. Next time we are going to try Progressive Italian bread crumbs to see how it turns out. We did have a problem with the corn flakes but all in all the taste was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Thanks for the recipe, it was delicious and quite simple. I didn't have any corn flakes so I used Sun Chips. Ritz crackers also work great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very tasty beer batter. I omitted the cornflake dredge. Didn't have any, nor breadcrumbs. Was looking for a simple beer batter anyway. My tip for battering "wet" foods is to dredge them in flour first, then batter. Works very well with getting things to stick. Overall..delicious, easy, minimal dishes and prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter. The result: fried fish perfection. Popcorn-crisp exterior, steaming flaky cod on the inside. My wife claims it's the best fried fish she's ever had. One caveat, though: I prepared more fish than the two of us cared to eat in one sitting, and today's reheated leftovers aren't nearly as delectable. However much you prepare, be prepared to eat all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Aikens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is by far the best fried fish recipe we have ever had! I read the reviews and decided to do what I normally do when I make "Crunchy Chicken" ... so I patted off the fish fillets (walleye) - and then coated them with flour. When you do this it creates a smooth surface on the fish. Then when you dip them in the batter, do it quickly and let drip for about half a minute before coating in the Cornflakes mixture. I fried my fish at 325 degrees with a tablespoon of butter in the vegetable oil. The lower temp prevents smoking and burning of the fish. Turned out crunchy, flaky, tender, and very mouth watering. Recommend this to everyone! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Simons

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Nice recipe.. Crispiest batter tho' is simply .rice flour,light beer,pinch salt & oil heated to 160c minimum to crisp up the batter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was my first time doing a beer batter. It was amazingly simple and my husband loved it!!! Paired well with Rosemary Fries which are also on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This turned out awesome. The only thing I did different is I didn't have any cornflakes so I used panko crumbs. This was extremely crunchy and golden brown. If your not going to use cajun make sure you use something with a little paprika to enhance the color. Everyone including the picky eaters loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was a disaster! The coating wouldn't stick to the fish so none of the seasoning stuck to it and it failed to cook properly. I had to add quite a bit of seasoning to give it any taste. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very easy! Instead of cornflakes, I used some old onion flavored potato chips. And I opted not to use cajun seasoning. I also had the problem where the batter didn't seem to be sticking to the fish, so we just dipped it in the batter again after putting crumbs on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Nazareno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States