Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I've been cooking for over 50 years and during that time I have fried chicken hundreds of time. But...in all those years never have I fried chicken that comes even close to being as crispy, moist and delicious as Ms. O'Neill's "Crispy Fried Chicken". Without a doubt, her recipe is THE BEST fried chicken I've ever prepared or eaten. Not only is it delicious and crispy hot right out the frying pan, but when warmed up the next day in the oven, the chicken is as crispy as ever. Thank you, Ms. O'Neill for sharing your wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1061 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
5++ star rating for this one, Elaine! Your techinque works wonderfully. This plus some tried and true ways, give the most perfect fried chicken every time. Correct oil temp is necessary, about 375, and it takes a while to get that hot. I also brine (soak in salted water) any chicken I prepare and this assures moistness no matter what the cooking method. I have tried many seasoning combos, depending on the mood, and they all are super, as long as you follow Elaine's way of preparation. Simply the best fried chicken I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used boneless filets and cut it into strips. I usually coat my chicken in eggs before flouring them but the buttermilk worked 100 times better. The chicken was more tender and moist than it normally is when I fry chicken. Great prep instructions. I also found that I can freeze the chicken after it is coated in the flour. So, I can just pull it out of the freezer the next time I want to make some and it will be a lil' quicker. And for a fun variation, every now and again I add garlic powder and dried parmesan to my flour mixture. Then after I fry up my strips, I throw them on top of some pasta with marinara sauce and top with fresh mozzarella and parmesan cheeses to make a quick and easy chicken parmesana! My family loves it and I can't get rid of my friends when I make it. There is never, never, never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I rarely give a recipe an overall rating of five stars. This one deserved every one of the stars. This was a true winner, and I couldn't believe how crispy and juicy it was! I used poultry seasoning, lots of paprika, and some garlic powder to season the flour. I know a recipe is good when my family devours the dish and asks when the next batch will be ready. Even my 3 year old niece ate two pieces! Thank you *SO* much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
OMG! I never grew up eating fried chicken and after trying this recipe I feel deprived as a child! My husband had been asking for fried chicken for a while and I wanted it to be perfect. Having never made this before I read through a bunch of recipes but obviously knew that fried chicken has to be moist on the inside and the breading has to be thick enough to stand up to the frying process so it can be crunchy on the outside. So, I began with a marinade. I put the cut up chicken in a glass bowl and filled it with enough buttermilk to cover plus a couple dashes of tabasco. I turned the chicken a few times during 6 hours. I drained the chicken in a colander and patted it dry then breaded it in the flour. For the flour mixture I used 3 cups flour, 1 Tbsp. garlic powder, 1 Tbsp. onion powder, 2 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. salt. 1 tsp. pepper. I then follwed the steps outlined in this recipe. We used an electric fryer so our cooking time was a bit less than 30 minutes. You have to watch your chicken closely. I don't know which I like better - fried chicken that's fresh out of the frier warm or cold out of the fridge the next day. Either way, I'm hooked! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that definitely makes "Crispy Fried Chicken"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
the fried chicken turned out to be deliciously crispy even though i made a few alternation. i substituted buttermilk with sour milk (made from 1 cup of milk mixed with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice) as i couldn't find any in the supermart in our country. Marinated the chicken for few hours with little salt, pepper & paprika. i only cover the chicken for 10 mins (for a batch of 8 thighs). there's none left to test whether chicken still remain crispy when left overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I've tried (emphasis on "tried"!) to make fried chicken in the past and it's always come out all burned and crisped on the outside and still pink in the middle, then I'd try to fix it by nuking it, and ended up having it soggy and uncooked. But the tips and recipe were both perfect! All I did was add garlic (garlic fiends here) and paprika then followed recipe to a tee and received perfectly done fried chicken! Woohoo! It tasted awesome and looked super! Hubby and I loved it and chowed down big time! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J9GEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Desenzano Del Garda, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I am eating the leftovers right now and this chicken is even better cold! I have been making fried chicken for 10+ years and I have never been able to perfect the technique until now! I added garlic powder to my chicken after dipping in the flour and dipped my hubby's in Texas Pete hot sauce (mixed in with the buttermilk) because he likes it hot. I am a southern girl so I take my fried chicken seriously! So good with gravy too! Thanks so much Elaine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICBEN
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Incredibly good! I also add a little garlic powder and some seasoning salt in with the flour mixture. This is a wonderful recipe, stays crispy even after being in the fridge-when there are leftovers! Easy and delicious recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great simple recipe, but i did add some changes well prep steps and tips not flavour wise. I soaked the chicken in cold ice water for 30 minutes (helps all the blood out of the meat)then soaked in room temp water with dissolved sea salt for another 30 minutes or so. Then soaked over night in the butter milk. Makes my chicken super tender and tastey. I like a really thick coat of bread so i double dip. When frying i add a stalk of celery to the oil, it deepens the color of the fried chicken without needing to overcook it. I also dont use paper towels, i recomend letting the chicken drip on a wire rack, the paper towel although it soaks some of the oil the chicken tends to reabsorb the oil making it soggy! Comes out perfect, with a side of gravy and mashed potatoes what more could you ask for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCuocaEnza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States