Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
WoW! I LOVE fried chicken and, being a single person, do not often engage in preparing foods that require time & patience, but I was realllllly wanting some good, crispy fried chicken and THIS recipe DID IT for me!!!! Thank you ! AND Thank You for including the "LET SIT UNTIL THE FLOUR IS OF A PASTE-LIKE CONSISTENCY. THIS IS CRUCIAL!" as I would have ignored that step. THIS definitely made a difference and I am anXious to make this again. I only didn't score it a 5* as I need to perfect my version. Thanks again. WonDerFuL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Added onion and garlic powder, and double battered it. It was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've been trying different recipes for the last couple years, until I found this one. The technique is by far the BEST for getting crispy fried chicken, that is moist and tender every time. My four year old asks me all the time when I am going to make "that crispy chicken" again! And after you cook it, the oil used is almost exactly the color it was when it went in the pan, with very little to NO residual bits... I would say, that depending on taste, you might want to increase or change the seasonings added to your flour. Elaine DOES say that should be tweeked. I add mounds of salt and pepper, garlic salt, onion powder etc etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
5 for method. I can't rate the seasoning because I added more using Chef Johns Buttermilk Fried Chicken as a rough guideline. But this method is the absolute BEST you will find-hands down!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great crispy recipe. A good basic recipe you can add spices to for a bit of variety. So easy, too. I did thin strips and cooked them for 8-9 minutes at 350 or so in the fryer. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
You might not think something so simple could produce moist, flavorful chicken, but it does Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
first time EVER making fried chicken! MY family LOVED it! Looks to be a winner....thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojobean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Cannot tell you how happy I am with this chicken!!! I have been trying to successfully make fried chicken for about 8 years, but have never gotten it right. I made this and I will try no other recipe or way! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Wow!! I've used this recipe for the 3rd time and all I can say is it just keeps getting better and better!! I did brine my chicken for about an hour and then washed it before placing in plastic containers. I covered the chicken with buttermilk and about 5 dashes of hot sauce and then sealed tightly, shaking the containers to cover. I placed in the fridge and let it sit for about 2.5 hrs. I placed my flour in a paper grocery sack and really added the paprika and other seasonings (kinda heavy because the first two times I wanted more taste!). Shook very well for coating and placed on covered cookie sheets. After all the chicken was ready to for the pasty stage I sprinkled my remaining buttermilk/hot sauce mixture over it. I then followed the recipe as stated. The outcome was amazing!! Perfection.......juicy inside and crispy outside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I'd nearly given up on any desire to put lots of time into fried chicken for a mediocre outcome. This recipe changed that. This is fried chicken done right. Follow the instructions exactly. Give yourself plenty of time to wait for the coating to set up on the chicken. This is the only recipe worthy of my home-grown chickens. Of course it's not health food but for a special occasion, it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States