Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Loved it, first time I ever made decent fried chicken. I cut up large chicken breasts into good sized individual portions. I added 1Tbsp white vinegar to milk to make the buttermilk. Thanks!! I used peanut oil to fry the chicken, that also may have added to my success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanbrzzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dent, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I tried this tonight but I made it gluten free. The cooking time was a little to long and chicken was a bit dry but I will make again and lessen time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
to substitute buttermilk- use 1c. milk and then 1-1.5 tsp lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was the best fried chicken I have ever made hands down! This is my new fried chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I have made something similar to this for years. I started out with this idea but it was very bland. I found that if you add hot sauce (Texus Pete or Slap Yo' Mamma) to the buttermilk it gives the meat a great flavor base(buttermilk is a key to good fried chicken). I also add salt/pepper/dried sage/dried rosemary/dried parsley (herbs ground into a powder) to the flour. I don't normally keep paprika but can't say it wouldn't be good in the mix. Adding these ingredients to the flours gives it a better flavor takes on a KFC like quality but better cause I don't like KFC too greasy, salty etc. I can control the spice amounts to my families taste and it is an all the way round winner for the base recipe. AS Posted the recipe Needed Kicked up a notch by additional ingredients. When frying I do cover with a lid after the chicken has been browned on both side it seems to lock in the moisture better when done this way and by sealing off the chicken by browning first this keeps everything crispy. FYI to those who's coating is coming off your grease in my experience isn't hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made the chicken according to the recipe. I used a cast iron Dutch oven with about 3/4" of oil in the bottom (because I didn't have a deep skillet) on top of a glass top stove. I didn't have a thermometer so I guesstimated 'HOT' oil to mean 8 on the dial of 1-10 on my stove. Burned my chicken even though I browned it and turned the stove down to 6. There was no way that was going to stay in for 30 min, it was in 20 min and burnt the skin to a black crisp. Turned the stove down to 6 and left it there to add the next batch which browned then cooked, but didn't cook anything but the drumsticks through. It did turn out very crispy skin and coating though. I wish there was more of a set temperature so someone like me that is unfamiliar with deep frying would know how to get crisp, not burned but cooked through chicken. Would try brining it and using a different mixture to coat it with next time, but would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was a great recipe, however, when i placed the chicken in hot oil it instantly got crispy and when i cut it down and covered, it became soggy. And when i tried to remove cover and raise heat and fry until it was crispy, that didn't work well. Going to try it again and see how it works with skinless. Maybe i need to work on the technique a few more times to perfect it! Even though mine wasn't as crispy as i like, it was still delicious! Well worth a few more tries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanishburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Good basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I haven't cooked fried chicken in about 20 years, so I found this recipe, read many reviews and was very eager to try it. I also wanted to use the method that Elaine described as I remember my Granny doing something like this when I was little. I made very few modifications to the original recipe. I soaked my chicken in buttermilk (in the fridge for about 6 hours) and added garlic and onion powder (about 1 1/2 tsp each) to the flour mixture. Oh my goodness! Let me tell you, the chicken was crispy and tender and oh so good. Next time, I will have a lid for my cast iron skillet and I won't put as much oil in my skillet to begin with. I think 1/3 is plenty. I had forgotten how messy frying can be too. As another reviewer stated, be prepared to have a few hours to make this from flour mixture to the dinner table. You really shouldn't leave a large skillet of grease on the stove unattended. But it was so worth the extra time and effort. My family loved it and wants me to make it again. And that y'all is what melts my butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I started a grease fire trying to make this. Don't be like me and over fill the pan with grease! And have a fire extinguisher near by. 5* because im sure this is would have been good, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States