Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I haven't cooked fried chicken in about 20 years, so I found this recipe, read many reviews and was very eager to try it. I also wanted to use the method that Elaine described as I remember my Granny doing something like this when I was little. I made very few modifications to the original recipe. I soaked my chicken in buttermilk (in the fridge for about 6 hours) and added garlic and onion powder (about 1 1/2 tsp each) to the flour mixture. Oh my goodness! Let me tell you, the chicken was crispy and tender and oh so good. Next time, I will have a lid for my cast iron skillet and I won't put as much oil in my skillet to begin with. I think 1/3 is plenty. I had forgotten how messy frying can be too. As another reviewer stated, be prepared to have a few hours to make this from flour mixture to the dinner table. You really shouldn't leave a large skillet of grease on the stove unattended. But it was so worth the extra time and effort. My family loved it and wants me to make it again. And that y'all is what melts my butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I started a grease fire trying to make this. Don't be like me and over fill the pan with grease! And have a fire extinguisher near by. 5* because im sure this is would have been good, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is more on technique than anything and it was spot on!! The crust is a little bland so next time, and yes there will be a next time, I will put more spices in the flour mixture. The Chicken was brown on outside and moist and done on inside. I did what others suggested I put the chicken when finish in oven at 275 on rack with baking sheet underneath it. Smoke up house a little but no big deal. This is a keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllyMC
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great crispy fried chicken. I cooked legs and it was so good. Since I was out of paprika I used a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne. Came out juicy and tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have failed at frying bone in chicken in the past, but this recipe, along with the reviews had me wanting to try again. I marinated in buttermilk for a few hours as suggested. I added 1/4c of McCormick's chicken seasoning, and basically poured the Paprika, and onion powder into the flour mixture, double coating as suggested. Being I have a gas stove, I only filled my cast iron pan 1/3 of the way for safety reasons. My "hot" was set @ 8, my low @ 3. I fried 5 legs as a test, before frying the rest. They were delicious with a nice crispy coating. Thank you Elaine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've always struggled with fried chicken. It never seemed to turn out right...UNTIL NOW! I feel like I've finally mastered the technique to crunchy, yet super juicy fried chicken thanks to this awesome recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott O'gorman
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have been cooking fried chicken for 15 years and this recipe is the best that i have seen, soaking the chicken for 5 minutes in the buttermilk bath, as well as adding minced garlic to the flour mixture, unbelievable taste Elaine O Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott O'gorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve. I modified the flour mixture slightly to add more paprika, salt and pepper. I also added garlic powder, old bay seasoning and cayenne powder. The chicken was moist on the inside and very crispy on the outside, even the next day out of the fridge! All my guests raved about the chicken and I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I would not rate something 5 stars unless I REALLY love it, but from one who loves fried chicken, I have to say this is the best fried chicken I have ever eaten. The first time I made it, I had too much oil in my skillet, which resulted in a mess - start with your skillet no more than one third filled with oil - you can add more later if needed. Since that first time, no problems, just great chicken. I added a few shakes of cayenne pepper to the flour, but that's the only thing I did differently. If you love fried chicken, you MUST try this! Thank you Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Great starting point for a recipe. I loved all the tutorial information...it was super helpful. Plus the chicken was quite moist on the inside and perfectly crispy on the outside. However the coating definitely needs more seasoning...it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Torbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States