Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
With all of the 5 star reviews, I expected this this to be like the extra crispy chicken that you get from a focus fast food chain. It was close enough. I also soaked my chicken in a liter of water with a 1/3 cup of kosher salt for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
You can use alternatives to buttermilk!! My daughter is allergic to milk, so I mixed up some soy sour cream and water to the consistency of buttermilk and used that. It turned out so great! This recipe is really simple and delicious. Step 2 is crucial. I have never waited for it to make a paste and I think that is the issue I have had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used this recipe with boneless chicken pieces and it was amazing. Letting the battered chicken pieces sit and the high low high frying are the key. Instead of paprika, I used a some cajun spice mix I had in the cupboard and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Sounds great, but one quick question. When you say heat both sides until browned, then reduce and cover........doesn't it get browner? Sorry but I am a total rookie here. Any help appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Now I finally know the proper technique. This is the best dang fried chicken I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend last night. It was really good! Very crispy. I did add additional seasonings like cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
SUPER crispy (almost too crispy) LOL! Just needs WAY more spices to make it perfect. My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Mine came out rock hard even with reducing the cooking time. I tweaked for seasoning but the coating was so hard I never made it to the meat .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I actually did make this with chicken legs exclusively and it turned out FANTASTICALLY! My husband, who is the master fryer and incredibly particular about extremely flavorful food, raved about this! I also made creamed biscuits and green beans and it was an amazing comfort dinner haha I added onion powder, garlic powder, white pepper, and a little red pepper to the mixture also. This confused me when reading reviews so I want to tell what I did: I did 1 cup whole milk to 1T vinegar (vinegar goes in FIRST!) And let it sit like 15 min. Then I marinated 5 legs in that for an hour. Dropped in seasoned flour bag, dipped in soured milk again, and shook again in flower bag. I fried it in a cast iron skillet with half canola oil, half non-hydrogenated shortening. It was really amazing. I was so surprise because as comfortable I am with cooking, fried chicken has so intimidated me until now!! (Also, j only fit 4 legs in my skillet at once so I fried to light golden, covered for 15, and fried to crisp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Tasty but more time consuming than I expected,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States