Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The method is not efficient for making crispy chicken. Just fry it in hot lard or oil until well browned, tray and let rest, uncovered for 20 minutes in a 225 degree oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baergy
Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this last night for dinner. It was the best fried chicken I've ever made. Added a little poultry seasoning to the chicken. Came out delicious. Will definitely make again. I served with a copy cat recipe of KFC gravy and coleslaw. Only thing I was missing was some biscuits. Next time. You don't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I had never tried to cover the chicken while cooking , but thought I'd give it a try and sure enough this technique works well for the large parts such as the thighs and large drumsticks, large breast with bones , but the wings/small drumsticks and parts don't need 30 minutes to cook through. I like super moist chicken that does not have any over cooked parts, so I've learned to separate prior to cooking, now everything comes out perfectly cooked, by putting small chicken parts in one pan and large parts with bones into another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawaiianlion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
To me, this deserves a high rating for an excellent method of cooking, but as a recipe, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
There was not much taste and I think part of it was because it would be better with the skin on, but I removed it. Maybe I'll make another attempt and add more paprika and some cayenne or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It worked! I had planed on buying fried chicken, money was short bought a raw chicken instead and tried this receipt. After cooking, I was told this was better than the fried chicken I was going to buy. I also really spiced it up used seasoning salt . (Takes time, so don't wait until last minute to prepare.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edd Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Nice crunch, but needs more flavor. Next time I will add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have been looking for a really good fried chicken recipe for years. Most of what I found has been good but not worth bothering with again. This one is the exception. It is very good. I followed the ingredients but added about 1/3 t. of Poultry Seasoning. (I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 3/4 c. full milk, 1/4 scant cup of cream, and 1 T. white vinegar as a replacement--a recipe I looked up online.) I fried the chicken to get it lightly browned, and then I put it in the oven at 175 degrees until I got back from church (about 1.5 hours). I then turned the oven up to about 325 degrees for about 20 minutes (fearing it might dry out--too many recipes produce dried out chicken). The chicken was tender and tasted great! This will be the recipe I use for many years to come. It turned out wonderfully well, and we all loved it. Thanks for sharing. (Next time, I'll have real buttermilk, and I bet it will be even better.) If you want a double thick, crunchy outside, dip your chicken in the flour first, then into the buttermilk, then back into the flour. (You will need extra buttermilk for this and maybe 3 cups of flour instead of two (adding extra salt, pepper and cayenne so as not to change this delicious recipe.) It turns out extra crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was really good! I've had a lot of fried chicken fails, so I was excited to find this one. The only change that I made was that after I fried the chicken until it was brown, I finished it in the oven, and only because all of the chicken wouldn't fit into one pan and I wanted it to be done all at the same time. It worked great! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caurel Robison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Never made fried chicken until this recipe. It's super easy and the key is letting the chicken rest after it is battered and getting the oil to temp of 375 as one of the other reviewers noted. I added extra paprika and my friends loved it do much they had four helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States