Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I might be biased, because Elaine O. is my mom! But I made this chicken myself the other night, and it was totally outstanding. It blew everyone away. I used slightly more flour than the recipe called for just to ensure a really good coating. It came out nice and crispy. If you like it even EXTRA crispy, I have a trick that I learned from Chinese cooking that you can also use here. Prepare the recipe as directed. Then, let the chicken and the oil cool for about 10 min. Then, bring the oil back up to very hot and re-fry each piece quickly, only for about 5-10 seconds tops. When they cool again, they'll be super crispy. My other optional tip is to let the chicken marinate for a while (30-120 min) in buttermilk first for added moistness and flavor to the meat. Try this recipe...it's the best buttermilk fried chicken you'll find!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Great recipe my chicken was sooooo moist and crispy. Just be sure to season the chicken and flour... I think because of the buttermilk you need a bit more seasoning, I love Tonys for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
The chicken came out so crispy!!! It was fabulous! My husband said it was the best homemade fried chicken he had ever had. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My 84 year old father requested pan fried chicken for dinner and I went with this recipe. So glad I did. He loved it and said it reminded him of the fried chicken his aunt used to make that he loved so much. The only thing I will add next time is gravy made from the pan drippings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Wow did I ever like this. Nice crispy chicken fingers. Im afraid to make this for mr friends, they're going to want it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck Blades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
OMGOMGOMGOMFG! Fried chicken would be my last meal if I was on death row. I'd die of a clogged artery before anyone could inject the lethal stuff... Having said that, I've searched for years for the best recipe, and THIS IS IT!! I didn't measure anything. Poured some buttermilk in a dredging pan and threw in the flour, salt, pepper & lots of paprika in a Ziploc. Let it rest in the fridge until it became a paste-like consistency & took it out for about 15 minutes before cooking so it was at room temp. Filled my cast iron pan halfway with oil. More cooking time on breasts with the rib but it was worth the wait. SO GOOD. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I have never wrote a review. So I had to do it with this recipe, It was so easy and so good, i used 2% milk and tonys cajen seasoning because i didnt have paperika, it was delicious. its the method thats the trick. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
outstanding recipe... If you love chicken you'll love it even more with this recipe thanks so much for sharing this one is a keeper ........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Love this and ive fried chicken all my life: it retains it'd crispy texture, even cold. I thought itwas bland though and that's easily remedied from my spice cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larsvernon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love the simple technique. Used wings and drummettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States