Crispy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I always wanted to make fried chicken that turned out just the way it did with this recipe. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcos Del Valle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have never made fried chicken before but used this recipe and it turned out wonderful....I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
OK, so I have to admit, this is the first time I've ever made fried chicken myself, and this recipe is wonderful! Gotta agree with other reviewers: the technique that Elaine lays out is the key. The chicken came out beautifully golden brown and crispy on the outside and very moist on the inside - thank you, Elaine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. It was crispy but it lacked flavor. I will try it again, but will experiment with spices to get a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Holy moly, where has this recipe been all my life? I followed most of the recipe except ended up marinating the chicken breasts in buttermilk. The chicken was grabbed up and seconds disappeared. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I'm glad I found this recipe. The chicken came out deliciously crisp on the outside and moist on the inside. I did make a few changes however. I let my chicken strip sit in the buttermilk for about 20 minutes in the fridge before coating them. I also double coated the chicken before frying it in my deep fryer. The first batch came out a little dry in certain areas when I left it in for 20 minutes, which was too long. The rest came out so good that there is none left for me to eat. Definitely keeping this recipe. Thanks for sharing!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was great. Needs a little more flavor but the chicken was crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. I did drums for 17 minutes at 375 in my deep fryer. Update: I made this again but added 2tbs of seasoned salt as well as S&P to the flour. This made it much more flavorful. I also make chicken nuggets with this recipe. I like those better than the chicken pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I'm making this my go to recipe for frying. I followed the advice of other reviewers and drained on a wire rack instead of a paper towel, worked out great. Waiting for the flour plus buttermilk mix to turn into a "paste" only took about 10 min. I also didn't have buttermilk so I just added a Tbs. Of lemon juice to a cup and waited until it thickened up, about 5 min. I just wish I used regular salt or season salt to the mix. I used kosher and it wasn't as good as it could have been, but that's my fault and an easy fix for next time. Juicy and crispy! I used this chicken for Japanese curry and it was awesome. I also had a few peices with bbq sauce and it was also great. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I use gluten free flour and it works like a dream. I also soak my chicken overnight in buttermilk, so it comes out marinated and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Chicken looked very nice with a good coating but tasted very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States