Crispy Fried Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anny Perez
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe give me the crunch i been looking for!! Perfect! Just had to add a little more salt and pepper to taste and more cayanne pepper(i read the reviews first) my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic! For those of you complaining about the spices, add them AFTER you pull the wings out of the fryer, before they cool off. Good spices are expensive, and if you add them to the wing or batter before frying, you will lose them in the oil. What you end up with is well seasoned oil, which is useless. I mix the spices I like in a bowl, and as soon as the wings are pulled from the fryer, I sprinkle the spices I like on with my fingers. This also gives the oil a chance to rise back up to cooking temperature. I usually fry these for 11 minutes (4-5 large wings at a time) and I flip them after 6 minutes. I never clip off the wing tips. They are great for nibbling on. KUDOS to the author for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Thank you for the recipe but i thinnk i will add some hot sauce to the buttermilk mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
They ended up crispy just like I liked them. The only ding off was that it was just bland chicken in the end, and I added way more spices then what the recipe called for. For some reason none of the spice made it to the wings, but stayed in the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Pretty bland. Very crispy, but a dry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I did not have saltine crackers, but other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
While I changed up the spice combination, I kept the 3 cups flour & 1 cup crushed saltines along with the egg & buttermilk soak. Great texture. Nice & crispy on our fresh chicken wings. We used a generous portion of black pepper, salt & Tony Cachere's creole seasoning in ours which was just spicy enough. Cooking time was spot on, too. 10 minutes was perfect. Will use this in the future & am already planning on this breading for chicken livers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Loved it!!! My five-year-old daughter is picky but she ate 4 of these wings in a row! The only thing different I did was add a few shakes of Old Bay and a bit more salt after I took them out of the fryer. We loved these so much that tonight for dinner we are making them again only this time as chicken fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It did make the chicken crisp but it was bland. I even added extra seasoning and it still was under seasoned. Maybe next time I'll season the skin directly like i usually do. My kids enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Bland. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States