Crispy Flautas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this recipe its so flavorful. The only thing i did differently was make it with whole grain flour tortilla. Its definitely going to made in my house on a monthly basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanesMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Excellent!!! My wife's favorite Mexican food is flautas, and she prefers these over her favorite restaurant flautas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DuRod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
All though this looks good it's more like taquitos than flautas. I order flautas at my fave Mexican restaurant which uses flour tortillas instead of corn. And I prefer beef over chicken. However I would love to try it with corn. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was good, but not outstanding, to me. I didn't care for the cheese in the mix...the ones here don't have cheese. I also used my own homemade seasoning instead of packaged taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made these last night and not a single one was left. I used flour tortillas instead of corn but that was the only thin I changed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yes. Baking Nana is correct. Flautas Are flour tortillas not corn. So with that said, I too had leftover chicken. I added a couple teaspoon of dried onion, chicken tacos seasoning and some chipotle powder. I didn't bother with toothpicks, just held them together with tongs till they could hold their own shape. Drained and served with guacamole n sour cream. I made Fideo to go with it. Delish! Thanks KCB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Made these for my family last night and they LOVED them. We didn't make any changes to the recipe except to use flour tortillas. Surprisingly quick to make, a good weekday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
My family loved this recipe. It has become a part of the monthly menu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I made these using green Enchillada sauce, and some cumin for seasoning, instead of the Taco seasoning and water and they were delicious.I also used flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas I will definately make this again. They were even better the next day after sitting for a while in the fridge- I just reheated them in the oven to keep them crispy ( don't reheat in the microwave or they will go soggy). Served with lots of guacamole and they were to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleblanc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Traditionally I do believe Flautas are made with flour tortillas and Taquitos with corn tortillas. At least in Southern California these would be considered taquitos. I used cooked left over chicken. Minced very small. Minced the onion and bell pepper small. Cooked the onion, bell pepper - added the chicken and taco seasoning and cooked a bit. Added about 1/4 cup water and cooked it down - add a little more water if it seems to be drying out. Take off the heat and stir in the cheese. For the tortillas - I heated the oil and dipped each tortilla briefly in the hot oil - remove quickly so they don't start to brown. Place a spoonful of chicken on to each tortilla roll up and place seam side down on paper towels. Do NOT overfill. Once all the tortillas are rolled start frying by placing into the oil seam side DOWN - 3 or 4 at a time - this seals the tortilla. Once brown and crispy, flip and fry the other side. Drain on paper towels and serve with salsa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States