Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made these crispy fillets as per the recipe with the exception of dredging fillets in flour before the egg mixture. After the fillets were coated I put them on a platter & placed them in the fridge for 10 minutes to firm up. Fried them up and the family absolutely LOVED THEM!! Will definitely make them again with the potatoe flakes again - so crispy & yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I wasn't sure about this recipe, it sounded a little weird with the mustard. I tried it mainly because I was in a hurry and it came up as one of the first recipes in my 'sole' search and was quick and easy. I did dredge in flour prior to the egg/mustard dip and I used panko instead of potato flakes because that is what I had. It's really good! And it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Usually, when I cook two things tend to happen: One the food gets burned or I get burned. BUT this time everything turn out fine. The fillets came out great!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yane M De O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was super easy to even for a kitchen novice like me my boyfriend loved it I used salmon cause it was on sale tastedreally good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I was looking for a way to cook flounder that I had on hand and decided to adapt this. I used flour and cornmeal because I don't stock instant potato flakes. I did the double dredge, and rather than making the fish extra crispy, it made the coating extra thick. I'll do it differently next time. The taste however, was great. I may add a little cayenne to the flour for a kick to the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shronda
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was fantastic, I love the color the mustard gives the fish. I used flour that I seasoned with garlic powder , Lemon pepper and onion powder....then dredged in the egg mustard mixture. Well will definitely be eating this again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this a couple of times now with different fish and the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My kids loved it! Next time I'll add the parm and it should be perfect. I wasn't sure if I could use frozen sole, but it came out perfectly. I just ran it under warm water for a few seconds before dredging it in flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have thirteen year old triplets. One loved it, one was "okay" with it, and the other didn't like it. Fish is an aquired taste. I do not like "fishy" fish, but I loved this. I dredged in flour, then egg, then flour again before dredging in the flakes, and be generous with the flakes. I used talipia - the kind that comes in a frozen bag at Target - just let it lay out on the counter for about 30 min. before preparing. I also used Canola oil, and fried in small batches - 3 to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Cottom
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
A favourite. for those that are substituting breadcrumbs or cornmeal , you're missing the delicate flavours of this coating for a delicately flavoured fish. Adding flour just would make it a pastey mess of a roadside fish and chip shop. I will admit I did make changes but minor. I reduced the oil to 1 tbsp and added 1 tbsp of clarified butter to my non stick skillet. I also added freshly ground black pepper with some dried dill and dried parsley to the potato flakes. I tried double dipping and single dipping and we preferred the single dip. Served with a brown rice pilaf , steamed asparagus and holland side sauce this was perfect. The mustard was understated and complemented. ( and I don't like yellow mustard on my sandwiches). I rarely have instant potato flakes on hand, except for camping. (Used last summers leftovers for this) would add this to a gourmet wilderness canoe trip and sacrifice my breakfast egg with my instant potatoes and packets of fast food mustard to enjoy a fishfry at sunset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States