Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was amazing. Much better than breading. Very light and crispy. The only thing I did different was use flounder instead of sole, and added a bunch of dried herbs to the potato flakes. I will definitely make this again. Be sure to only do 1-2 minutes for thin fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Everyone loved it! I did coat in flour first as suggested in other reviews, as well as added some garlic. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Nice and easy, but needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love this recipe! Who would've known that a little mustard would make such a big difference? After reading the reviews, I did not use potato flakes--instead I stuck with my usual... 1/2 c. all-purpose flour and 3/4 c. cornmeal seasoned with salt and pepper. The result was great tasting crispy fish filets! I've used cod, haddock and tilpia with this recipe and they all turned out good. I've used dijon mustard also... still good, perhaps better depending on your taste. Even my picky 7-year old who typically doesn't eat fish likes this recipe! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Seriously crunchy fried fish - love it! I've made this twice now with the addition of a flour dusting before frying. The mustard takes fish to a whole new level of yumminess that will please both adults AND kids. A major plus is that by using GF flour to dust the fish, this recipe is GLUTEN FREE! I've made it with tilapia and grouper, both worked well. The first time, I prepped all the fish, then put them into the pan. The second time, I had more fish, so dropped each one into the pan as soon as it was coated. That was a mistake. The coating came off a few of the fillets and what remained was little gummy where it met the fish. So for fish perfection, dust all the fillets in flour, then run them all through the first dip/potato dredge, then all of them through the second dip/dredge, then finally fry them up, in batches, if needed. The short resting times between the steps made a REAL difference in finished quality. I let the fish rest on a wire rack, which helps a lot, too. The top of a broiler pan would work as well. The second time I made them I added cajun spice from the recipe for Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi and loved that, too. I put the spices in the mustard/egg dip. Terrific! This is a perfect base recipe for fried fish. The bottom line - the potato flakes, mustard, and rest between steps results in perfect fish! **UPDATE** Made tonight with GF bread crumbs and flounder, only 1 coating. Still super crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful--the taste is so delicious. Follow the directions to the word--don't add or change anything. Best-ever fried fish, and so very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Had some catfish fillets and used this recipe. In order to double-coat the fillets after dredging in flour first, I had to double both the egg mixture and the coating (I used bread crumbs since I had no potato flakes). Personally, I prefer a little less mustard flavor and will probably try cutting the amount of mustard in half next time I make it. This is another great option for how to fix fish. Fried it 5 minutes per side and it was golden brown and crispy on the outside, flaky and tender inside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I dredged in flour first and added a small amount of garlic powder to the egg mixture, but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out great. Even my picky ones liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was real good! And I don't like fish, I will add some garlic next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States