Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have thirteen year old triplets. One loved it, one was "okay" with it, and the other didn't like it. Fish is an aquired taste. I do not like "fishy" fish, but I loved this. I dredged in flour, then egg, then flour again before dredging in the flakes, and be generous with the flakes. I used talipia - the kind that comes in a frozen bag at Target - just let it lay out on the counter for about 30 min. before preparing. I also used Canola oil, and fried in small batches - 3 to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Cottom
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
A favourite. for those that are substituting breadcrumbs or cornmeal , you're missing the delicate flavours of this coating for a delicately flavoured fish. Adding flour just would make it a pastey mess of a roadside fish and chip shop. I will admit I did make changes but minor. I reduced the oil to 1 tbsp and added 1 tbsp of clarified butter to my non stick skillet. I also added freshly ground black pepper with some dried dill and dried parsley to the potato flakes. I tried double dipping and single dipping and we preferred the single dip. Served with a brown rice pilaf , steamed asparagus and holland side sauce this was perfect. The mustard was understated and complemented. ( and I don't like yellow mustard on my sandwiches). I rarely have instant potato flakes on hand, except for camping. (Used last summers leftovers for this) would add this to a gourmet wilderness canoe trip and sacrifice my breakfast egg with my instant potatoes and packets of fast food mustard to enjoy a fishfry at sunset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I've made this twice. Once baked and once fried. It definitely gets crisper when you fry. It's a good recipe for coating *only if* you add a lot more seasonings and dredge the fish in flour or cornmeal before the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
We really liked this. The batter came out a little eggy like a pancake almost. Although they were crispy I missed the flaky crunch like you get with panko. Still very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
The Wife said it was the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Just tried this recipe Today and it is awesome.. hands down the best fried fish recipie ever.. i used flounder instead of sole, mixed garlic pepper and parsley in with the egg mixture, and bread crumbs with the potato flakes (sour cream and chive flavored flakes).. i also coated the fish in flour before dipping it in the egg mixture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The potato crust on the fish really sets it off. Makes for a nice deep golden brown crust. Even my husband who generally doesn't like fish said this was a good recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lime Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Terrific recipe, easy and very tasty. Definately dredge the fish in flour first. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine.k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
this was a great simple way to make fried fish without using the deep fryer.. subbed mahi mahi for the sole and dredged in flour before the egg mixture and potato flakes as most everyone suggested.. couldn't see enjoying this without a sauce.. i chose tartar.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Ive tried this recipe several times and my husband LOVES it and so do i! Ive baked mine @450 instead of frying itt and i used panko bread crumbs instead of flour/potatoe flakes. Love ths recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States