Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I wasn't sure about this recipe, it sounded a little weird with the mustard. I tried it mainly because I was in a hurry and it came up as one of the first recipes in my 'sole' search and was quick and easy. I did dredge in flour prior to the egg/mustard dip and I used panko instead of potato flakes because that is what I had. It's really good! And it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Usually, when I cook two things tend to happen: One the food gets burned or I get burned. BUT this time everything turn out fine. The fillets came out great!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yane M De O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was super easy to even for a kitchen novice like me my boyfriend loved it I used salmon cause it was on sale tastedreally good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I was looking for a way to cook flounder that I had on hand and decided to adapt this. I used flour and cornmeal because I don't stock instant potato flakes. I did the double dredge, and rather than making the fish extra crispy, it made the coating extra thick. I'll do it differently next time. The taste however, was great. I may add a little cayenne to the flour for a kick to the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shronda
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was fantastic, I love the color the mustard gives the fish. I used flour that I seasoned with garlic powder , Lemon pepper and onion powder....then dredged in the egg mustard mixture. Well will definitely be eating this again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this a couple of times now with different fish and the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My kids loved it! Next time I'll add the parm and it should be perfect. I wasn't sure if I could use frozen sole, but it came out perfectly. I just ran it under warm water for a few seconds before dredging it in flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have thirteen year old triplets. One loved it, one was "okay" with it, and the other didn't like it. Fish is an aquired taste. I do not like "fishy" fish, but I loved this. I dredged in flour, then egg, then flour again before dredging in the flakes, and be generous with the flakes. I used talipia - the kind that comes in a frozen bag at Target - just let it lay out on the counter for about 30 min. before preparing. I also used Canola oil, and fried in small batches - 3 to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Cottom
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
A favourite. for those that are substituting breadcrumbs or cornmeal , you're missing the delicate flavours of this coating for a delicately flavoured fish. Adding flour just would make it a pastey mess of a roadside fish and chip shop. I will admit I did make changes but minor. I reduced the oil to 1 tbsp and added 1 tbsp of clarified butter to my non stick skillet. I also added freshly ground black pepper with some dried dill and dried parsley to the potato flakes. I tried double dipping and single dipping and we preferred the single dip. Served with a brown rice pilaf , steamed asparagus and holland side sauce this was perfect. The mustard was understated and complemented. ( and I don't like yellow mustard on my sandwiches). I rarely have instant potato flakes on hand, except for camping. (Used last summers leftovers for this) would add this to a gourmet wilderness canoe trip and sacrifice my breakfast egg with my instant potatoes and packets of fast food mustard to enjoy a fishfry at sunset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I've made this twice. Once baked and once fried. It definitely gets crisper when you fry. It's a good recipe for coating *only if* you add a lot more seasonings and dredge the fish in flour or cornmeal before the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States