Crispy Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have a new love! Even my husband loves these. He is a converted health food nut. Heart/lung disease requires it, but he's making a happy converter, because I find things that are good! One suggestion that I have not read, but I didn't read all the comments, is to use *real* fresh grated parmesean cheese, not the powder stuff that one buys in a plastic bottle. It seems as though buying a chunk of *good* parmesean would be more expensive, but you actually use LESS, because there's so much more flavor in the better cheese. Also, using less means that you use less fat. A definite win-win situation. If you're still using the stuff in the plastic jar, try fresh parmesean. You'll wonder why that powder stuff is even called 'cheese'. It's also great on broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I've recently discovered the joys of roasted vegetables. More importantly, I've discovered that my kids seem to eat more veggies when I roast them! They are yummy! So when I found the roasted edamame recipe, it was a no-brainer. I've tried this recipe twice. The first time was so-so--like many others, I liked the end result but it was more chewy than crispy. The second time, I decided to try "pre-cooking" the edamame a bit in the microwave in the hopes of drying them out a bit to help with the crisping process. I followed the directions on the bag and, using half the bag, microwaved it covered in plastic wrap for 2 minutes. I then patted the beans dry before coating them in olive oil and garlic salt and pepper. I roasted in my toaster over for 10 minutes at 400 (without cheese). I stirred the beans, added an Italian cheese blend (what I had on hand) and roasted for another 10 minutes. The cheese was pretty toasted after 10 minutes, and the beans, for the most part, were crunchy this time. Still a little chewy, but that's okay with me. I wasn't going for a "dried" type anyway, so these were good for me. I hate to read where other members threw theirs out because of chewiness. Simply roasting longer would have probably resulted in crunchier beans, albeit maybe burned cheese. :-/ You gotta tweak it until it suits you. I'm sure I'll try something a little different next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
The recipe did not say to dry, just to drain, so I did not dry. I think because of that mine didn't turn out like the picture and I def wouldn't say it was a snack. I would call it a side. That being said it was delicious! I love recipes like this that get me to actually eat something healthy lol. I halved the recipe and used season salt instead of salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Def will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
okay given that this recipe has a ton of mixed reviews I kinda poked through em and went with my gut. First off I have never cooked with nor eaten edamame so I wasn't sure what to expect. I bought mine a couple weeks ago but they were in the shell so I had to shell them (total pain in the rear buy the already shelled) and were lightly salted which I didn't notice till the last min but thank goodness I did. I cooked them from frozen ( I sprayed the pan with cooking spray and had no problems) with the other ingredients as directed but left out any salt until I could taste them cooked. I did toss em around on the pan while cooking so the browning would be a little more even. Seems that alotta folks had problems getting them crispy so after they browned I turned the oven off and let it cool for about 10 mins then put the baking sheet back in and let them dry for about 15 more mins ( I did toss em around a few times to make sure they wouldn't get any browner) then let em cool off. Mine turned out crispy and man alive were they a nice munchie snack! BF opted for these over popcorn for a movie. SCORE plus it reminded me to not be afraid of the "unknown" food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Followed the ingredients exactly and it was sooooo delicious! These little guys are incredibly addicting and make a yummy salty snack. The only thing was I didn't really thaw the edamame under water like the recipe said...I left it on the counter as I was cooking other things and cooked it for 25 minutes at 400F. Perfect!!! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Mine browned up fine just like the picture. My first time eating Edamame and Its quite good but not worth the aggravation to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess DeFevers Ehling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was quick and easy to make, and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Love it... Mine also did not turn out "crispy" but the cheese was crispy. The beans were "chewy-ish" but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Awesomely addictive. I bought a package of fresh (not frozen) shelled edamame at Trader Joe's and thought I'd try this. Used the parchment paper on a baking sheet as was suggested by another user. Baked it for 15 minutes, then stirred it all around and baked for another 15. Tasty and nice and crispy. Stored in an airtight container in my fridge, although I doubt they will last. Probably going back to TJ's this week to get more and make a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made these in my NuWave Oven on the 2" rack. I lined the pan with parchment paper and cooked them for 12 minutes. I use the edamame from Safeway that is individually packaged and frozen. I cooked them in the microwave according to the package directions and patted them dry before adding the seasonings. I also added a pinch of garlic powder and aleppo red pepper flakes. Very tasty. The edamame was more chewy than crispy, but the cheese added a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States